The Federal Gas Supply Act

GasVG - Bild 1

For the gas market, the Federal Pipelines Act of 1963 merely sets out an obligation to transport gas. It obligates network operators to conclude contracts with third parties on the transport of gas, providing this is technically possible, economically feasible and the third party provides appropriate compensation. In the event of disputes, the SFOE adjudicates on the obligations set out in the contract and the contractual conditions on a case-by-case basis. Alternatively, the Swiss Competition Commission (COMCO) can enforce the right to through-transmission on the basis of relevant cartel law.

With the development of the EU internal gas market, which began in the 1990s, interest grew among major industries and traders in Switzerland to buy gas on the European traded markets and to transport it themselves to Switzerland as far as the point of consumption. Legal uncertainty regarding numerous details relevant for the implementation of the transport obligation led to the conclusion of the Associations Agreement on Gas in 2012, which regulated access to the network for gas supplies to large industrial customers. For other end-consumers, there was no provision for free choice of supplier.

In 2020, however, COMCO decided that smaller end-consumers should also be permitted in principle to choose their supplier. For this reason, two gas network operators in central Switzerland were fined for illegally refusing access to the gas network. While this decision was only binding for the two companies concerned, it sent a clear message to network operators throughout Switzerland.

Still today, however, there is no standard legal framework to ensure effective competition for the whole of Switzerland. As a result, different conditions for the supply of gas by third parties have become established within the various regions of the network, for instance concerning measurements or relating to forecasts and accounting in the context of what is known as the balancing process. Access to the transport network is still decided on a case-by-case basis, and four separate accounting zones continue to exist in Switzerland.

The Federal Gas Supply Act, which underwent a process of national consultation from October 2019 to February 2020, provides for clear rules in order to facilitate the development of an efficient gas market in Switzerland. Following the evaluation of the consultation process, the Federal Council is expected to submit to Parliament its dispatch on the Act in the course of 2021.

Documents

Gas market background studies

ID: 271

Policy document

Switzerland’s plans for prevention and emergencies regarding gas

Specialist staff
Last modification 01.12.2020

Top of page

https://www.bfe.admin.ch/content/bfe/en/home/versorgung/gasversorgung/gasversorgungsgesetz.html

Gasversorgungsgesetz

GasVG - Bild 1

Das Rohrleitungsgesetz aus dem Jahr 1963 enthält für den Gasmarkt lediglich eine Transportpflicht: Sie verpflichtet Netzbetreiber, vertraglich Transporte für Dritte zu übernehmen, wenn dies technisch möglich und wirtschaftlich zumutbar ist und wenn der Dritte eine angemessene Gegenleistung anbietet. Bei Streitigkeiten entscheidet das BFE einzelfallweise über die Verpflichtung des Vertragsabschlusses sowie über die Vertragsbedingungen. Alternativ kann die Wettbewerbskommission (WEKO) den Durchleitungsanspruch gestützt auf das Kartellrecht durchsetzen.

Mit dem Aufbau des Gasbinnenmarktes in der EU ab den 1990er-Jahren stieg in der Schweiz das Interesse von grösseren Industriebetrieben und Händlern, Gas auf europäischen Grosshandelsmärkten einzukaufen und selbst in die Schweiz bis hin zum Verbrauchsort zu transportieren. Rechtsunsicherheiten zu den zahlreichen Einzelheiten, die für die Abwicklung der Transportpflicht relevant sind, führten im Jahr 2012 zum Abschluss der sogenannten Verbändevereinbarung. Sie regelte den Netzzugang für Gaslieferungen an grosse Industriekunden. Den übrigen Endverbraucherinnen und Endverbrauchern räumte sie hingegen keinen Anspruch auf freie Wahl des Lieferanten ein.

Die WEKO hat im Jahr 2020 entschieden, dass auch die kleineren Endverbraucherinnen und Endverbraucher ihren Lieferanten grundsätzlich frei wählen dürfen. Sie hat deshalb zwei Gasnetzbetreiber in der Zentralschweiz wegen einer unrechtmässigen Verweigerung des Netzzugangs gebüsst. Dieser Entscheid ist nur für die beiden Unternehmen verbindlich, hat aber eine Signalwirkung für die ganze Schweiz.

Bis heute gibt es keinen einheitlichen, gesamtschweizerischen Rahmen für einen funktionstüchtigen Wettbewerb. So dürften sich in den verschiedenen Netzgebieten unterschiedliche Bedingungen für die Belieferung durch Dritte etablieren (z.B. bei der Messung oder bei der Prognose und Abrechnung im Rahmen der so genannten Bilanzierung); auch ist der Zugang zum Transportnetz weiterhin im Einzelfall zu lösen und es gibt in der Schweiz vier verschiedene Bilanzzonen.

Das Gasversorgungsgesetz (GasVG), das vom Oktober 2019 bis im Februar 2020 in der Vernehmlassung war, sieht einheitliche, klare Regeln vor, damit ein effizienter Gasmarkt entstehen kann. Der nächste Schritt ist die Überweisung der Botschaft durch den Bundesrat an das Parlament.

Dokumente

Grundlagenstudien zum Gasmarkt

ID: 271

Positionspapier

Präventions- und Notfallpläne der Schweiz für Gas

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 29.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bfe.admin.ch/content/bfe/de/home/versorgung/gasversorgung/gasversorgungsgesetz.html