Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Radioactive Waste

Radioactive waste is produced every day in Switzerland. The main source is electricity production at the country's five nuclear power plants, but a certain amount is also produced in the medical, industrial and research sectors. A distinction is made between high-level and low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste. The combined total volume is around 100,000 cubic metres of material, around 90 percent of which is low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste. The majority of this will result from the dismantling of the existing nuclear power plants. Depending on the category, this radioactive waste will have to be stored for periods lasting from several tens of thousands up to a million years until the process of radioactive decay has reduced the level of radiation enough so that it no longer poses a threat to human beings and the environment. At present, radioactive waste is being stored in secure, above-ground buildings, which are located on the premises of the nuclear power plants themselves and at two central interim storage sites in the canton of Aargau.

Click on the map to get more information

The Federal Council is expected to announce its decision regarding the proposed geological siting areas (Jura Ost, Nördlich Lägern, Zürich Nordost) that are to be examined in greater detail in stage 3 at the end of 2018.

Source: Federal Office for Spatial Development / Swiss Federal Office of Energy / National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste (Nagra) / Federal Office of Topography (swisstopo)

Current status of the Site Selection Procedure

The Federal Council is expected to announce its decision regarding the second of the three stages of the Sectoral Plan for Deep Geological Repositories at the end of 2018. The sectoral plan is the spatial planning instrument, which allows the government to coordinates the search for suitable sites for a deep geological repository. At the end of stage 1 of the sectoral plan, the Federal Council confirmed six geological siting areas (Jura Ost, Jura Südfuss, Nördlich Lägern, Südranden, Wellenberg and Zürich Ost) as suitable sites for deep geological repositories. In stage 2, the geological siting areas were narrowed down to at least two locations per waste category. The geological siting areas Jura Ost, Nördlich Lägern and Zürich Nordost will be proposed to the Federal Council for further examination in stage 3. The public consultation took place from 23 November 2018 until 9 March 2018. All the documentation and further information pertaining to the public consultation for stage 2 can be obtained at the following link:
Public Consultation for stage 2

Links

Storymap: Sectoral Plan for Deep Geological Repositories Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
Contact: Seraina Branschi
Last update: 22.12.2017


Ende Inhaltsbereich



http://www.bfe.admin.ch/themen/00511/01432/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Déchets radioactifs

Des déchets radioactifs sont produits chaque jour en Suisse. Ils proviennent principalement de la production d'électricité des cinq centrales nucléaires, mais aussi de la médecine, de l'industrie et de la recherche. On distingue les déchets hautement radioactifs (DHR) et les déchets faiblement ou moyennement radioactifs (DFMR). Ensemble, ils représentent un volume de quelque 100'000 mètres cubes, dont près de 90 % de DFMR. La majeure partie des DFMR sont engendrés lors du démantèlement des centrales nucléaires. Selon la catégorie dont ils font partie, ces déchets doivent être stockés un million d'années jusqu'à ce qu'ils ne représentent plus de danger pour l'être humain et pour l'environnement. Les déchets radioactifs sont actuellement entreposés en surface dans des halles bien sécurisées à proximité des centrales nucléaires et dans deux dépôts intermédiaires situés dans le canton d'Argovie.

Veuillez cliquer sur un site pour obtenir plus d'informations

Le Conseil fédéral décidera vraisemblablement à la fin de l'année 2018 quelles seront les régions qui devront continuer à être étudiées à l'étape 3 parmi les trois propositions: Jura-est, Nord des Lägern et Zurich nord-est.

Source: ARE/OFEN/Nagra/Swisstopo

Etat actuel de la procédure du plan sectoriel

Le Conseil fédéral se prononcera vraisemblablement à la fin de l'année 2018 sur la deuxième des trois étapes du plan sectoriel "Dépôts en couches géologiques profondes" qui coordonne la recherche des sites susceptibles d'accueillir des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes. Le Conseil fédéral y avait défini à la fin de l'étape 1 les domaines d'implantation Jura-est, Pied sud du Jura, Nord des Lägern, Südranden, Wellenberg et Zurich nord-est comme des sites géologiques appropriés. A l'étape 2, le nombre de sites a été réduit au minimum à deux domaines d'implantation par type de dépôt. Il est désormais proposé au Conseil fédéral de poursuivre à l'étape 3 les études des domaines d'implantation Jura-est, Nord des Lägern et Zurich nord-est. La consultation y relative débutera en novembre 2017. Vous trouverez ici tous les documents et de plus amples informations.
Consultation étape 2

Liens

Storymap: Plan sectoriel des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Personne de contact: Seraina Branschi
Dernière modification: 22.11.2017


Fin secteur de contenu



http://www.bfe.admin.ch/themen/00511/01432/index.html?lang=fr