Swiss Federal Office of Energy SFOE

Beginn Sprachwahl

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Fuel cells

Fuel cell
Fuel cell (illustration: PSI)

Fuel cells can directly convert chemical energy into electricity. Their construction is similar to that of batteries. They consist of individual cells that each have two electrodes (anode and cathode) that are separated by an electrolyte. One electrode is fed with hydrogen (H2), the other with oxygen (O2). These combine within the cell to form water (H2O), and a direct current flows via the electrodes. At the same, heat is generated that can also be used, or otherwise has to be removed via a cooler. Since a single cell only generate a very low voltage, a number of cells are switched (or piled) behind one another to form a fuell cell stack. The need for several conversion processes, e.g. as is the case in a combustion engine generator system (thermal, mechanical, electromagnetic energy) is eliminated. Fuel cell systems are therefore highly efficient energy conversion systems.

Fuel cells are suitable for a broad range of applications, e.g. for powering vehicles, for stationary energy supply, but also for powering small electronic devices.

For many years now, fuel cells have been regarded as one of the most promising future technologies. However, the technology is still a long way from full development, and the need for research and development in this area is thus very high. The main drawbacks of fuel cell technology at present are its limited service life, the high price of stacks and the costs of preparing the fuel.

Fuel cell research in Switzerland

In the area of fuel cells, research competencies primarily exist in the federal institutes of technology and their research centres (Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich; Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne; Paul Scherrer Institute; EMPA - Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing and Research), but private sector companies are also becoming increasingly active in the areas of development and pilot projects.

The Fuel cells research programme of the SFOE is supporting these competence centres and bringing them closer together to form a network. The programme also supports the development of prototypes for the market, e.g. portable fuel cells (Powerpac), drives for light vehicles (SAM) and ships (Hydroxy). And in a separate project, the Paul Scherrer Institute joined forces with French group Michelin to develop a light vehicle (HY-LIGHT): the Swiss fuel cell drive attracted world-wide interest.

Related documents

Competences in Switzerland
Research programme Fuel cells
Contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Last update: 13.02.2012


Ende Inhaltsbereich




Swiss Federal Office of Energy SFOE
Contact form | Legal basis
http://www.bfe.admin.ch/themen/00507/00508/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Pile à combustible

Pile à combustible
Pile à combustible (illustration: PSI)

Une pile à combustible est capable de transformer de l'énergie chimique en énergie électrique. Sa structure simple la fait ressembler à une batterie: ses cellules comportent deux électrodes (anode et cathode) séparées par un électrolyte. Une électrode est alimentée en hydrogène (H2), l'autre en oxygène (O2). A l'intérieur de la cellule, l'hydrogène et l'oxygène se combinent pour former de l'eau (H2O); les électrodes produisent du courant continu. De la chaleur naît simultanément, qui soit peut être utilisée soit doit être éliminée par refroidissement. Comme les cellules isolées ne produisent qu'une faible tension électrique, elles sont montées en série. C'est cette combinaison que l'on appelle une pile à combustible. Il n'est donc plus nécessaire de recourir à plusieurs niveaux de transformation, tels qu'ils existent dans un moteur à combustion ou un générateur (énergie thermique, mécanique et électromagnétique). Les systèmes à piles à combustible sont donc des systèmes de transformation de l'énergie à fort rendement.

Le potentiel d'utilisation des piles à combustible est vaste: propulsion de véhicules, approvisionnement énergétique fixe et alimentation de petits appareils électroniques.

La pile à combustible est considérée comme une technologie très prometteuse depuis de nombreuses années. Mais encore non parvenue à maturité, elle demande d'importants investissements en recherche et développement. En l'état actuel, elle a pour défauts sa durée de vie limité, le prix élevé des stacks ainsi que le coût de préparation du combustible.

La recherche en Suisse

Les écoles polytechniques fédérales et leurs instituts de recherche (EPFL, ETHZ, IPS, EMPA) ainsi que diverses hautes écoles spécialisées sont les principales actrices de la recherche sur les piles à combustible. Des entreprises issues du privé sont également de plus en plus actives dans le développement et l'utilisation d'installations pilotes.

Le programme de recherche de l'OFEN consacré aux piles à combustible soutient ces centres de compétence et les rassemble en réseau. Le programme a aussi permis le développement de prototypes destinés au marché, au nombre desquels les piles à combustible portables (Powerpac), les systèmes de propulsion pour véhicules légers (SAM) ou pour bateaux (Hydroxy). Par ailleurs, l'Institut Paul-Scherrer a développé en collaboration avec le groupe français Michelin le HY-LIGHT. Ce prototype suisse de voiture utilisant une pile à combustible a retenu l'attention dans le monde entier.

Documents sur ce thème

Compétences en Suisse
Programme de recherche Piles à combustible
Personne de contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Dernière modification: 13.02.2012


Fin secteur de contenu




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/themen/00507/00508/index.html?lang=fr