Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Winners of the 2014 Watt d'Or awards

The winners of the 2014 Watt d'Or awards have been chosen! This year's trophies were presented to the winners on the occasion of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy's New Year's event that was held on 9 January 2014 in Bern. The following projects were chosen to receive the various awards (all of which are of equal value):

"Society" category

Verband Textilpflege Schweiz VTS
Efficient use of resources in dry cleaners and laundries
Swiss Association for Textile Care (VTS)

For dry cleaners and laundries, energy consumption is a significant cost factor. It is therefore hardly surprising that, under the guidance of the Swiss Energy Agency for Industry (EnAW), above all major laundries have been at the forefront for more than ten years when it comes to saving energy and reducing CO2 emissions. And now the Swiss Association for Textile Care (VTS) is helping smaller businesses save energy: since the end of April 2013 it has been providing them with a manual called "Efficient use of resources in dry cleaners and laundries" - a handbook that is easy to understand and contains numerous practical tips. Upon request, the VTS also provides practical assistance. Companies can visit the "proofit.ch" website where they can check their energy performance and compare their progress with that of other businesses with the aid of online benchmarking. The 2014 Watt d'Or in the "Society" category was awarded to the Swiss Association for Textile Care (VTS) for its services as a valuable partner in the field of clean and efficient textile care.

"Energy technologies" category

Kraftwerke Oberhasli AG
VARSPEED - variable speed storage pump
Kraftwerke Oberhasli AG
Switzerland's electricity supply is undergoing transition. A constantly increasing quantity of electricity produced from wind and solar energy is being fed into the network, often during periods when demand is low. Operating the electricity network safely and maintaining its stability also places high demands on control processes and technology during such periods, and pump storage power plants play a significant role here. Kraftwerke Oberhasli AG is currently adapting this tried-and-tested technology so that it can meet the challenges of the future. And in the process it has set a new world record: in March 2013, in its Grimsel 2 "Varspeed" power plant it put the most powerful frequency converter into operation that has ever been installed in a hydropower plant. With an output of 100 megawatts, it is as powerful as 1,000 cars and permits the much more efficient and flexible operation of Grimsel 2 pump storage power plant. The 2014 Watt d'Or in the "Energy technologies" category was awarded to Kraftwerke Oberhasli AG for its vision enabling conventional power plants equipped with Swiss state-of-the-art electronics from ABB to meet the challenges of the country's future electricity supply.

"Renewable energies" category

glass2energy sa
glass2energy
glass2energy sa
Plants convert sunlight into energy through photosynthesis, but the efficiency rate of this process of between 1 and 4 percent is surprisingly low. However, plants compensate for the relatively low energy yield in that photosynthesis takes place even during periods of very low light intensity, and thus functions from dawn to dusk. And this is precisely how the third generation of photovoltaics functions, namely dye-sensitised solar cell technology, also known as the Grätzel cell. In a technical photosynthesis process using light-sensitive dyes, these transparent cells produce electricity even in poorly lit surroundings. glass2energy SA (g2e), which is based in Villaz-St-Pierre in the canton of Fribourg, is the first company in the world to develop this technology to industrial maturity. Before long we can expect to see these attractive panels installed on the surfaces of furniture, and on walls, windows and facades. The 2014 Watt d'Or in the "Renewable energies" category was awarded to glass2energy SA, which is paving the way for inexpensive and aesthetic electricity production in the sophisticated world of the future.

"Energy-efficient mobility" category

Institut für Dynamische Systeme und Regelungstechnik der ETH Zürich
Gas-diesel hybrid motor
Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich: Institute for Dynamic Systems and Control Engineering
Taking efficiency to peak levels: this is how the gas-diesel hybrid motor developed by the Institute for Dynamic Systems and Control Engineering at the Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich can be characterised. This new car engine is so efficient that it only emits half the level of CO2 produced by conventional motors, namely around 56 grams per kilometre, which is equivalent to petrol consumption of 2.4 litres per 100 kilometres. The same team which had previously caused a sensation with its record-breaking hydrogen-powered Pac Car II and a pneumatic hybrid motor, has now come up with another groundbreaking invention. The gas-diesel hybrid motor has the potential to conquer the market within just five years if car manufacturers decide to adopt it. And with initial talks already being held with various industry partners, the prospects are good. The 2014 Watt d'Or in the "Energy-efficient mobility" category was awarded to the Institute for Dynamic Systems and Control Engineering - an institution that constantly keeps one step ahead of the competition when it comes to efficiency.

"Buildings and space" category

Kirchrainweg AG – aardeplan ag – e4plus AG
Kirchrainweg 4a apartment building
Kirchrainweg AG - aardeplan AG - e4plus AG
Switzerland can certainly be described as a "high-powered" society: each of us consumes around 6,000 watts, which adds up to more than 52,000 kilowatt hours a year. Roughly half this figure is attributable to the energy that is required for the construction and operation of buildings. But at Kirchrainweg, which is located in the centre of Kriens (canton of Lucerne), in collaboration with the architects of aardeplan AG and a team of expert planners, building owners Marie-Theres and Markus Portmann have demonstrated that high levels of electricity consumption can be a thing of the past. The architecturally impressive new five-storey building is not only the first apartment building in central Switzerland to comply with the "Minergie-A ECO" standard, it also meets the targets of the "2040 Efficiency Path" of the Swiss Association of Engineers and Architects (SIA), and thus fulfils the requirements for constructing buildings in line with the vision of a "2,000-watt society". Thanks to the comprehensive approach to sustainability, aesthetics, economic operation and comfort, in combination with the use of smart technologies, this building produces more energy throughout the year than it actually consumes. The 2014 Watt d'Or in the "Buildings and space" category was awarded to Marie-Theres and Markus Portmann and aardeplan AG for a building designed and constructed for an energy-efficient future.

Related documents

Speech by Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2014
Gallery of photos taken at the awards ceremony on 9 January 2014 Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
Watt d'Or on Youtube Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
Special issue of "energeia" dealing with the 2014 Watt d’Or awards

Further information

Media release dated 9 January 2014 – Bundesamt für Energie verleiht zum achten Mal den Schweizer Energiepreis Watt d'Or (in German)
Last update: 09.01.2014


Ende Inhaltsbereich




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05989/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Lauréats du Watt d'Or 2014

Les lauréats du Watt d'Or 2014 ont été récompensés! Les lauréats du concours de cette année se sont vu remettre leur trophée à l'occasion de l'apéritif du Nouvel An organisé par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie, le 9 janvier 2014 à Berne. Les projets suivants ont tous reçu le même prix:

Catégorie Société

Association suisse des entreprises d'entretien des textiles (ASET)
Efficience des ressources dans les nettoyages à sec et les blanchisseries – RessEff
Association suisse des entreprises d'entretien des textiles (ASET)
La consommation d'énergie constitue un important facteur de coûts pour les nettoyages à sec et les blanchisseries. Il n'est dès lors pas étonnant de voir figurer les grandes blanchisseries notamment, épaulées par l'Agence de l'énergie pour l'économie (AEnEC), parmi les pionniers en matière d'économie d'énergie et de réduction du CO2. Mais l'Association suisse des entreprises d'entretien des textiles (ASET) incite désormais également les petites entreprises à économiser l'énergie. En effet, depuis la fin avril 2013, l'ASET met à leur disposition un manuel accessible prodiguant de nombreux conseils pratiques ("Ressourceneffizienz in Textilreinigungen und Wäschereien – RessEff"). L'association prête également son soutien pour la mise en oeuvre des mesures proposées. Sur proofit.ch, les entreprises ont la possibilité de se soumettre à un test énergétique et de comparer leurs progrès avec d'autres participants grâce à un classement en ligne. Pour la catégorie Société, le Watt d'Or 2014 est attribué à l'Association suisse des entreprises d'entretien des textiles, partenaire compétent en matière d'économies d'énergie.

Catégorie Technologies énergétiques

Kraftwerke Oberhasli SA
VARSPEED – pompe d'accumulation à régime variable
Kraftwerke Oberhasli AG
Notre approvisionnement en électricité est en pleine mutation. L'injection de courant d'origine éolienne ou solaire dans le réseau est de plus en plus importante, notamment lorsque la demande est faible. L'exploitation stable et sûre du réseau en pareille situation ne va sans poser des exigences élevées en termes de régulation et de technologie. Les stations de pompage-turbinage jouent à cet égard un rôle important. La société des Forces motrices de l'Oberhasli SA (KWO), qui prépare cette technologie éprouvée à ces nouveaux défis, établit un record du monde: en mars 2013, l'entreprise a mis en service, dans la centrale de Grimsel 2, le convertisseur de fréquence "Varspeed", le plus puissant au monde jamais installé dans une centrale hydraulique. D'une puissance de 100 mégawatt (MW), l'équivalent de 1000 voitures de tourisme, Varspeed permet une exploitation nettement plus efficace et flexible de la centrale de pompage-turbinage de Grimsel 2. Pour la catégorie Technologies énergétiques, le Watt d'Or 2014 est attribué à KWO, dont le savoir faire permet de guider les centrales traditionnelles sur la voie du futur énergétique grâce à la technologie de pointe développée par le groupe suisse ABB dans le domaine de l'électronique de puissance.

Catégorie Energies renouvelables

glass2energy sa
glass2energy
glass2energy sa
Les plantes transforment la lumière du soleil en énergie grâce à la photosynthèse. Le rendement de cette opération est étonnamment bas (de 1 à 4%). Mais la plante compense cette faible production d'énergie puisque le processus de photosynthèse est actif même lorsque la lumière est faible, se poursuivant de l'aube jusqu'à la tombée de la nuit. Il en va de même du photovoltaïque de troisième génération – la cellule solaire à colorant (Dye Sensitized Cell) plus connue sous le nom de cellule de Grätzel. Reproduisant la photosynthèse grâce à des pigments photosensibles, cette cellule transparente produit de l'électricité même en cas de lumière diffuse. Sise à Villaz-St-Pierre dans le canton de Fribourg, l'entreprise glass2energy sa (g2e) est la première au monde à mener cette technologie à maturité industrielle. De sorte que dans un avenir proche, ses panneaux décoratifs pourraient orner nos meubles, nos parois, nos fenêtres et nos façades. Le Watt d'Or 2014 de la catégorie Energies renouvelables est décerné à l'entreprise glass2energy ag, pionnière d'une production d'électricité destinée aux villes du futur, alliant efficacité et esthétique.

Catégorie Mobilité économe en énergie

Institut des systèmes dynamiques et des techniques de régulation de l'EPF de Zurich
Moteur hybride à gaz naturel et au diesel
Institut des systèmes dynamiques et des techniques de régulation de l'EPF de Zurich
A la pointe de l'efficacité. Ainsi pourrait se caractériser le moteur hybride à gaz naturel et au diesel développé par l'Institut des systèmes dynamiques et des techniques de régulation (IDSC) de l'EPF de Zurich. Ce nouveau moteur de voiture est si performant qu'il émet deux fois moins de CO2 qu'un moteur classique (soit 56 grammes par kilomètre), ce qui correspond à une consommation de 2,4 litres aux 100 kilomètres. Après avoir fait sensation avec leur véhicule à hydrogène Pac Car II, détenteur d'un record du monde, et leur moteur hybride pneumatique, les chercheurs de l'institut ne sont pas en reste: le moteur hybride à gaz naturel-diesel pourrait conquérir les marchés en cinq ans si le concept était adopté par les constructeurs automobiles. Le projet a de bonnes chances d'aboutir et les premières discussions avec les partenaires industriels sont en cours. Dans la catégorie Mobilité économe en énergie, le Watt d'Or 2014 revient à l'IDSC, un institut qui sait toujours garder une longueur d'avance sur ses concurrents dans le domaine de l'efficacité.

Catégorie Bâtiments et espace

Kirchrainweg AG – aardeplan ag – e4plus AG
Immeuble d'habitation Kirchrainweg 4a
Kirchrainweg AG – aardeplan ag – e4plus AG
La Suisse est une grande consommatrice d'électricité avec une puissance moyenne de 6000 watts, soit plus de 52 000 kilowattheures par an. Près de la moitié de cette consommation d'énergie est imputable à la construction et à l'exploitation de bâtiments. Mais il peut en être autrement. C'est ce que démontre le projet de Marie-Theres et Markus Portmann, maîtres d'ouvrage, épaulés par le bureau d'architectes aardeplan ag et une équipe de concepteurs. Situé au Kirchrainweg, en plein centre de la ville de Kriens (LU), la nouvelle construction de cinq étages – un bâtiment d'un grand intérêt architectonique – n'est pas seulement le premier immeuble Minergie A ECO de Suisse centrale; l'immeuble satisfait aux valeurs cibles de la voie 2040 vers l'efficacité énergétique, cahier technique publié par la Société suisse des ingénieurs et des architectes (SIA), et, ainsi, aux exigences d'une construction compatible avec la société à 2000 watts. Conjuguant développement durable, esthétique, rentabilité et confort tout en faisant appel aux technologies intelligentes, cette réalisation produit au cours d'une année davantage d'énergie qu'elle n'en consomme. Dans la catégorie Bâtiments et espace, le Watt d'Or 2014 revient aux Portmann et à aardeplan ag pour la maison 2050, une construction d'avenir.

Documents sur ce thème

Discours Dr. Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2014
Photos de la remise des prix du 9 janvier 2014 Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Watt d'Or sur Youtube Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Numéro spécial d'energeia consacré au Watt d’Or 2014

Informations supplémentaires

Communiqué de presse du 9 janvier 2014 – 8e édition du Watt d'Or: l'Office fédéral de l'énergie décerne le prix suisse de l'énergie
Dernière modification: 09.01.2014


Fin secteur de contenu




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05989/index.html?lang=fr