Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Winners of the 2013 Watt d'Or awards

The winners of the 2013 Watt d'Or awards have been chosen! This year's trophies were presented to the winners on the occasion of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy's New Year's event that was held on 10 January 2013 in Bern. The following projects were chosen to receive the various awards (all of which are of equal value):

"Society" category

Services Industriels de Genève SIG
Services Industriels de Genève SIG – éco 21 electricity saving programme and CPE energy performance agreement
Services Industriels de Genève (SIG) is focusing on saving energy. In the view of the Geneva-based energy supply company, energy efficiency is the most important, most available and most ecological energy source, as well as the most cost-effective. For the past five years, SIG has been firmly focusing its business model on energy efficiency. In the words of SIG's Cédric Jeanneret and Jean-Marc Zgraggen, "We purchase energy on the basis of our éco21 electricity saving programme and we sell it on the basis of our energy performance agreement (Contrat de performance énergétique, CPE)." SIG's clients save money thanks to more efficient electricity consumption, SIG itself is able to avoid the need to construct additional expensive networks and power plants, and at the same time new jobs are being created for energy efficiency specialists. The model for the future energy market in Geneva is clearly a successful one.

"Energy technologies" category

Joulia SA
Joulia SA – energy-saving shower tray thanks to heat recovery
When we take a shower, enormous quantities of energy literally disappear down the drain. Each year, up to 1,000 kilowatt hours (or around 200 Swiss francs) per household are wasted in this way. But now this energy can be saved thanks to the Joulia system. The Joulia shower tray was developed and designed in Switzerland and is also produced here. It recovers heat (and thus energy) from shower water as it flows down the drain, and uses it to heat up cold water. This means that less hot water is taken from the boiler, so that the energy requirement for showering is reduced by more than one-third. As Silvana Ripa, CEO of Joulia SA, explains: "Our customers are highly pleased with the Joulia system, which is also very elegant. Those who understand the principle are full of praise for the system. Joulia is suitable for use in new buildings as well as for retrofitting, and can simply be installed in place of a conventional shower tray. The only additional action that needs to be taken concerns the installation of the heat exchanger. Furthermore, the resulting reduction of hot water consumption also has an influence on other household systems: for example, a smaller boiler can be installed". Joulia: a revolutionary and elegant way of saving energy in the bathroom.

"Energy technologies" category, special award: export

Maschinenfabrik Rieter AG
Maschinenfabrik Rieter AG – "ECOrized" suction tube for ring spinning machines
In the fairytale, Sleeping Beauty spun yarn by hand, promptly pricked herself in the finger with the spindle and fell into a deep sleep for a hundred years. Today, spinning is carried out by huge machines, which produce ever greater quantities of yarn for the expanding international textile market and consume an enormous amount of energy. For many years now, the most energy-efficient spinning machines in the world have been manufactured by Swiss engineering company Rieter AG in Winterthur, which has now succeeded in reducing the energy consumption of its machines by a further ten percent thanks to its development of "ECOrized", an innovative suction tube. With this device it would be possible to save more than six billion kilowatt hours of electricity throughout the world, which is more than the annual consumption in the cantons of Aargau and Solothurn.  As the members of Rieter's research and development team – which is already working on the next innovation – point out, "All this has been made possible thanks to the development of a very small plastic component."

"Renewable energies" category

This year the jury did not select a winner in the Renewable Energy category. Member of the jury and former national councillor Robert Keller explains why: "There were some very good entries in this category, but, in the same way as in sport, a good performance is no longer sufficient to win a medal. What is required is an outstanding performance. In the past few years the jury has been somewhat spoilt by the large number of excellent projects, but it has now become more demanding. We do not want to honour the same or similar innovations that were acclaimed last year. While we are pleased to note that initiatives that have been awarded the Watt d'Or in previous years are now being replicated many times over – after all, that is one of the main objectives of the award – in  the view of the jury, excellence calls for genuine innovation and uniqueness (i.e. a true pioneering spirit)." Robert Keller will be serving on the jury for the last time in 2013 after completing a term of office of seven years.

"Energy-efficient mobility" category

PostAuto Schweiz AG
PostAuto Schweiz AG – fuel cell vehicles
Postauto Schweiz AG consumes around 39 million litres of diesel each year in order to transport its more than 120 million passengers. This costs a lot of money, is a burden on the environment and, in view of the uncertain development of the price of this type of fossil fuel, represents a corporate risk that should not be underestimated. It is therefore hardly surprising that Postauto Schweiz AG wants to make its fuel consumption more efficient and more ecological in the future. As a first step in this direction it has initiated a five-year trial period with five fuel-cell powered buses in the region of Brugg. Daniel Landolf, member of the SwissPost group executive board and head of the PostBus division: "While climate change, the growing scarcity of natural resources and rising energy costs pose new challenges, they also open up new opportunities. And PostAuto Schweiz AG intends to exploit these. With this project, PostAuto is demonstrating its capacity to trial and implement new technologies."

"Buildings and space" category

Credit Suisse AG
CREDIT SUISSE AG – Uetlihof 2 office complex
With Uetlihof 2, the expansion of its office complex in the south of the city of Zurich which it has occupied since 1976, Credit Suisse is setting new standards. The new complex comprising nine storeys and 38,000 square metres of office space is the largest building in Switzerland to be constructed in accordance with the "Minergie-P-Eco" standard. It has been awarded a special label for an outstanding indoor climate, and thanks to the successful optimisation of production (or "grey") energy and an ecological mobility concept, it also meets the targets of the "2,000-watt society". Uetlihof 2 was above all designed with people in mind. With its healthy indoor climate, high degree of energy efficiency and innovative "smart working" concept, it offers extremely attractive working conditions for around 2,500 employees. As Markus Nater, head of ecological management for the region of Switzerland at Credit Suisse, explains: "Our main aim was to offer our employees the best possible working conditions, but of course we are especially pleased to have also succeeded in realising a flagship project for energy efficiency and environmental protection. Each time we took a decision in favour of the best, but often more expensive, solution we asked ourselves, ‘Is it really necessary?' And in most cases we came to the conclusion that the answer was ‘Yes', because it represented the best solution for the future."

"Buildings and space" category

Green Datacenter AG
Green Datacenter AG – energy efficient data processing centre with high-voltage direct current technology
Our modern-day world functions to a large extent thanks to data that are stored in computer centres and sent around the entire globe in fractions of a second. Data transmission via computer centres is constantly growing and an ever increasing number of such centres are being constructed. In 2011, Green Datacenter AG opened a highly advanced and energy-efficient data centre in Lupfig (canton of Aargau), which may be regarded as a showcase for Swiss clean technology in that it uses high-voltage direct current technology developed by ABB Switzerland. Thanks to the elimination of voltage conversion and heat losses, it consumes 20 percent less electricity and thus sets new standards. Franz Grüter, CEO of Green Datacenter AG: "We have a strong commercial interest in reducing our data centre's electricity consumption, since this represents an essential competitive advantage for us. The actual producers of the clean technology are ABB, HP and Cofely AG, who supplied the most advanced and efficient solutions. We have ‘merely' acted as an early adapter, but this is something that is needed in the cleantech innovation cycle in order to be able to demonstrate how data centres have to be constructed in today's world."

Related documents

Speech by Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2013
Gallery of photos taken at the awards ceremony on 10 January 2013 Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
Special issue of "energeia" dealing with the 2013 Watt d’Or awards

Further information

Media release concerning the 2013 Watt d’Or awards (in German)
Last update: 10.01.2013


Ende Inhaltsbereich




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05710/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Lauréats du Watt d'Or 2013

Les lauréats du Watt d'Or 2013 ont été récompensés! Les lauréats du concours de cette année se sont vu remettre leur trophée à l'occasion de l'apéritif du Nouvel An organisé par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie, le 10 janvier 2013 à Berne. Les projets suivants ont tous reçu le même prix:

Catégorie Société

Services Industriels de Genève SIG
Services Industriels de Genève SIG – Programme d'économie d'énergie éco21 et contrat de performance énergétique CPE
Les Services Industriels de Genève (SIG) misent sur les économies d'énergie. Pour l'entreprise, l'efficacité énergétique constitue la source d'énergie la plus importante, la plus répandue, la plus respectueuse de l'environnement et la moins chère. Les SIG la placent au cœur de leur modèle de gestion depuis cinq ans. "Nous l'acquérons notamment grâce à notre programme d'économie d'énergie éco21 et nous la vendons par exemple avec notre contrat de performance énergétique (CPE)", expliquent Cédric Jeanneret et Jean-Marc Zgraggen des SIG. Une consommation d'électricité efficace permet à la fois aux clients d'économiser de l'argent et aux SIG de renoncer à la construction de nouveaux réseaux ou centrales hors de prix de même que de créer de nouveaux emplois qualifiés pour les spécialistes de l'efficacité énergétique. Le marché de l'énergie du futur à la genevoise: un modèle de succès.

Catégorie Technologies énergétiques

Joulia SA
Joulia SA – Bac de douche récupérateur de chaleur Joulia
Très économes par ailleurs lorsqu'ils prennent leur douche, les Suisses et les Suissesses gaspillent beaucoup d'énergie sous forme d'eau chaude. Pour un ménage, cela représente jusqu'à 1000 kilowattheures, ou 200 francs, qui disparaissent chaque année dans les canalisations. Pour éviter cela, rien de tel que Joulia. Ce bac de douche conçu, dessiné et produit en Suisse, récupère la chaleur de l'eau qui s'écoule pour tempérer l'eau qui arrive. Résultat: le chauffe-eau est moins mis à contribution et la douche requiert un tiers d'énergie en moins. "La clientèle réserve à Joulia un accueil enthousiaste. Cet élément au design attrayant s'installe simplement en lieu et place d'un bac normal, et s'insère aussi bien dans un bâtiment neuf que lors d'une rénovation. Seule adjonction nécessaire, le raccordement de l'échangeur de chaleur. Le besoin réduit d'eau chaude a d'autres avantages: on pourra par exemple prévoir un chauffe-eau plus petit", déclare Silvana Ripa, CEO de la société Joulia. Il suffit de le découvrir pour être conquis. Joulia: une jolie révolution dans la salle de bain.

Catégorie Technologies énergétiques – prix spécial exportation

Rieter SA
Rieter AG – Clapet "suction tube ECOrized" pour les machines à filer à anneaux
La Belle au bois dormant filait encore à la main. Soudain, elle se piqua le doigt avec le fuseau et s'endormit pour cent ans. De nos jours, de gigantesques machines produisent toujours plus de filés pour le marché international du textile en pleine expansion en consommant des quantités d'énergie considérables. Les machines à filer les plus efficaces au monde sur le plan énergétique sont fabriquées par l'entreprise helvétique Rieter AG à Winterthour. Ici toutefois, pas question de sommeil: grâce au tube d'aspiration innovant "suction tube ECOrized", Rieter réduit la consommation d'énergie de ses machines de 10% d'un coup. Cette solution permettrait d'économiser plus de six milliards de kilowattheures à l'échelle internationale, soit plus que la consommation annuelle des cantons d'Argovie et de Soleure réunis. "Et tout cela grâce à une petite pièce en plastique", expliquent avec satisfaction les membres de l'équipe R&D de l'entreprise Rieter, déjà occupés à concevoir de nouvelles innovations.

Catégorie Energies renouvelables

Cette année, le Jury n'a pas désigné de gagnant dans la catégorie Energies renouvelables. Robert Keller, membre du jury et ancien conseiller national explique: "Il y avait de très bons projets dans cette catégorie. Mais il en va aujourd'hui de l'énergie comme du sport: une bonne performance ne suffit plus pour décrocher une médaille, il faut un projet exceptionnel. Le jury a été gâté ces dernières années et il est devenu exigeant. Il ne veut pas, en 2013, honorer des projets similaires à ceux de l'année dernière. Nous sommes néanmoins heureux que des initiatives primées dans nos éditions précédentes se multiplient aujourd'hui par douzaines. C'est précisément l'un des objectifs du Watt d'Or. Mais pour le jury, l'excellence véritable réside aussi dans la primeur du projet, dans l'esprit de pionnier et d'innovation". Robert Keller quitte lui aussi sa fonction de membre du jury en 2013 après l'avoir exercée pendant sept ans.

Catégorie Mobilité économe en énergie

CarPostal Suisse SA
CarPostal SA – Car postal à pile à combustible
Pour transporter 120 millions de voyageurs, les véhicules de CarPostal consomment 39 millions de litres de diesel par an. Non seulement cela coûte très cher, mais ce carburant fossile pollue en outre l'environnement et représente un risque non négligeable au vu de l'évolution incertaine des prix. Pour ces raisons, CarPostal Suisse SA a revu sa consommation d'énergie afin de la rendre plus efficace et plus respectueuse de l'environnement. Dans la région de Brugg (AG), CarPostal teste sur cinq ans l'exploitation de cinq cars postaux à pile à combustible et s'engage ainsi dès maintenant pour notre avenir énergétique. "Le changement climatique, la raréfaction des ressources naturelles et la hausse des prix de l'énergie représentent de nouveaux défis mais également de nouvelles opportunités. Notre entreprise souhaite en profiter. Avec ce projet, CarPostal a l'opportunité de démontrer ses compétences pour appliquer les nouvelles technologies dans la pratique", explique Daniel Landolf, membre de la direction du groupe La Poste Suisse et responsable de CarPostal.

Catégorie Bâtiments et espace

Credit Suisse SA
CREDIT SUISSE SA – Uetlihof 2
Avec l'Uetlihof 2, l'extension de son complexe de bureaux existant depuis 1976 au sud de la ville de Zurich, Credit Suisse établit de nouveaux standards. La nouvelle construction de neuf étages et d'une surface de 38 000 m2 est à ce jour le plus grand bâtiment Minergie-P-Eco de Suisse. Certifiée par le label pour un bon climat intérieur, elle atteint les objectifs de la société à 2000 watts grâce à l'optimisation de l'énergie de construction (énergie grise) et à un concept de mobilité respectueux de l'environnement. Mais l'homme reste au centre de l'Uetlihof 2: le bâtiment sain qui économise de l'énergie et le concept innovant de travail intelligent offrent aux 2500 collaborateurs des conditions de travail extrêmement intéressantes. "Notre objectif était avant tout la satisfaction des collaborateurs. Si nous avons pu réaliser en même temps un projet phare en termes d'efficacité énergétique et d'écologie, tant mieux", se réjouit Markus Nater, responsable suisse du management environnemental chez Credit Suisse. "En nous prononçant pour les meilleures technologies, qui sont aussi souvent les plus chères, nous nous sommes demandés: en avons-nous vraiment besoin? Et la plupart du temps, nous sommes parvenus à la conclusion que oui: c'est l'avenir."

Catégorie Bâtiments et espace

Green Datacenter SA
Green Datacenter AG – Centre de calcul à la technologie du courant continu à haute tension
Le monde où nous vivons fonctionne grâce aux données qui sortent des serveurs des centres de calcul, capables de les expédier n'importe où en une fraction de seconde. Comme ces mouvements se multiplient sans cesse, il faut installer de nouveaux centres de calcul, dont chacun est un gouffre d'énergie. Un village argovien abrite depuis 2011 un centre moins vorace, le plus moderne de la société Green Datacenter. Cette installation est une véritable vitrine internationale pour les cleantech en Suisse. Elle applique en effet la technologie du courant continu à haute tension, développée par la firme suisse ABB. Les déperditions dues au changement de tension et aux rejets de chaleur étant éliminées, elle consomme 20% de courant en moins, un vrai progrès. "Nous avons un fort intérêt commercial à réduire la consommation électrique de notre centre de calcul. Pour nous, c'est un atout face à la concurrence. Ici les producteurs de cleantech à proprement parler sont ABB et HP, sans oublier la SA Cofely. Ces firmes ont fourni les techniques les plus récentes, donc les plus performantes. Nous ne sommes qu'un premier utilisateur: il en faut dans le cycle d'innovation cleantech pour montrer comment concevoir aujourd'hui un centre de calcul", explique Franz Grüter, CEO de Green Datacenter AG.

Documents sur ce thème

Discours Dr. Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2013
Photos de la remise des prix du 10 janvier 2013 Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Numéro spécial d'energeia consacré au Watt d’Or 2013

Informations supplémentaires

Communiqué de presse sur le Watt d’Or 2013
Dernière modification: 10.01.2013


Fin secteur de contenu




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05710/index.html?lang=fr