Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Winners of the 2012 Watt d'Or awards

The winners of the 2012 Watt d'Or awards have been chosen! This year's trophies were presented to the winners on the occasion of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy's New Year's event that was held on 5 January 2012 in Bern. The following projects were chosen to receive the various awards (all of which are of equal value):

"Society" category

City of St Gallen
St Gallen "2050 Energy Concept Cubed"
With its "2050 Energy Concept Cubed" (EnK3 2050) and a geothermal energy project, the city of St Gallen is paving the way for the third dimension of the future energy supply. The integration of heating, electricity and mobility and their mutual dependencies forms the basis for the revamping of the city's energy supply. The aim here is that, thanks to renovation and the application of the latest standards for new buildings, by 2050 the overall energy demand for room heating and hot water will be halved and the proportion of fossil fuels will be reduced from the current level of 90 percent to less than 25 percent. One of the key components will be a geothermal power plant, the construction of which is to be initiated in 2012.

"Energy technologies" category

City of Geneva responsible for energy, urban development and mobility
LED lighting system for Geneva Harbour
The lights around Geneva Harbour have been a special night-time feature of the city for more than a hundred years, but this attraction was facing the threat of extinction as a result of the ban on conventional light bulbs, which definitively enters into effect in autumn 2012. In view of this, the authorities of the City of Geneva responsible for energy, urban development and mobility decided to take action and developed a new type of LED lamp with the lighting properties of a conventional bulb. In November 2010, work commenced on the replacement of the 4,200 existing light bulbs with the system of LED lamps which received an award at the "International Exhibition of Inventions" in Geneva. The new lighting system is now producing the same warm glow as in the past, but consumes 90 percent less electricity.

"Renewable energies" category

Biomass Centre in Spiez
Biomass Centre, Spiez
Waste wood plus organic waste = electricity, steam, heat and compost. The Biomass Centre in Spiez is turning this concept into reality: thanks to a cleverly conceived recycling system, Oberland Energie AG is now helping save hundreds of thousands of litres of heating oil and producing top quality compost. The Biomass Centre comprises a fermentation facility, a composting plant and a heating system that uses waste and residual wood, and was developed and constructed together with Dr. Eicher+Pauli AG.

"Energy-efficient mobility" category

System-Alpenluft AG / Zermatt
Alpenluft waste disposal system
The air has suddenly become a lot cleaner in Zermatt: the world-famous tourist destination has introduced a brand new method of waste disposal which significantly reduces energy consumption as well as CO2 emissions and noise levels. The developer of this method, the newly formed System-Alpenluft AG, has come up with a waste disposal solution that is ideal for a mountain resort like Zermatt. Easily manoeuvrable energy-efficient electric side-loaders are used for transporting waste, and the electricity that is required for powering these vehicles is obtained from the two hydropower plants operated by Zermatt Electricity Works. Micro-compacting containers compress the waste immediately on site, and thus reduce the number of journeys required for unloading. The result is highly impressive: energy savings of 80 percent versus the conventional waste disposal method.

"Buildings" category

Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl / Fanzun AG
Flagship tourism project: Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl
Since 1 January 2011, the Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl, which is located above Samedan (canton of Grisons), has been supplying itself entirely with renewable energy, and thanks to a carefully conceived energy system it is also able to produce more energy than it consumes. It is the first "plus-energy" hotel in the Alps, and is thus a flagship project for the Swiss tourism sector. Together with the architects and engineers of Fanzun AG, the proprietor of the hotel – Bergbahnen Engadin St. Moritz AG – successfully implemented a comprehensive energy concept comprising solar collectors, use of waste heat from railway operations, a photovoltaics plant alongside the railway line, and geothermal sensors.

Special award

Walter Schmid
Energy pioneer Walter Schmid
In 2012 the jury awarded a special prize for the fourth time, which went to building contractor Walter Schmid for his lifetime work as an energy pioneer. For the past three decades, Walter Schmid has been implementing a broad variety of projects in the areas of energy efficiency and the use of renewable energy. For example, in the 1970s he built the first houses in Switzerland to be equipped with solar panels, wood-chip heating systems and heat pumps. He went on to construct the first office building with an integrated solar facade, and also built the first apartment house based on the "Minergie" standard. But his greatest achievement to date is his widely acclaimed development of a compost gas process for producing fuel from kitchen waste. His latest project concerns the "Umwelt Arena" in Spreitenbach, an exhibition and event complex that has been consistently optimised in terms of energy efficiency. For example, it includes one of the largest photovoltaics systems in Switzerland with an area of 5,300 square metres. The complex is to be completed in summer 2012.

Related documents

Speech by Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2012
Gallery of photos taken at the awards ceremony on 5 January 2012
Special issue of "energeia" dealing with the 2012 Watt d’Or awards

Further information

Media release concerning the 2012 Watt d’Or awards (in German)
Last update: 05.01.2012


Ende Inhaltsbereich




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05336/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Lauréats du Watt d'Or 2012

Les lauréats du Watt d'Or 2012 ont été récompensés! Les lauréats du concours de cette année se sont vu remettre leur trophée à l'occasion de l'apéritif du Nouvel An organisé par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie, le 5 janvier 2012 à Berne. Les projets suivants ont tous reçu le même prix:

Catégorie Société

Stadt St. Gallen
Saint-Gall et la troisième dimension de l'avenir énergétique
La ville de Saint-Gall s'achemine vers la 3e dimension de l'avenir énergétique avec son «Concept énergétique à la puissance trois 2050 (EnK3 2050)» et son projet géothermique. Le réaménagement de l'approvisionnement énergétique de la ville se fonde en effet sur la prise en compte des trois dimensions que sont la chaleur, l'électricité et la mobilité dans leur intégralité ainsi que sur les interactions entre ces dimensions. Grâce à des rénovations et à l'adoption de normes ultramodernes du secteur du bâtiment, les besoins globaux en énergie pour chauffer les bâtiments et l'eau devraient diminuer de moitié d'ici 2050. Dans le même laps de temps, la part des combustibles fossiles passerait de 90% à 25%. La centrale géothermique, dont la construction débutera en 2012, constitue l'un des fleurons de ce projet.

Catégorie Technologies énergétiques

Fachstellen für Energie, Stadtentwicklung und Mobilität der Stadt Genf
Un cordon lumineux à lampes LED pour la Rade de Genève
L'éclairage de la Rade de Genève est depuis plus d'un siècle l'emblème nocturne de la cité de Calvin. Or cette installation semblait condamnée par l'interdiction définitive des ampoules à incandescence, à l'horizon 2012. Les services de l'énergie, de l'aménagement urbain et de la mobilité de la ville de Genève ont donc réagi en développant une lampe LED révolutionnaire dont l'effet lumineux est identique à celui d'une lampe à incandescence classique. Depuis le mois de novembre 2010, les 4200 ampoules du cordon lumineux ont été remplacées par des lampes LED primées au Salon des inventions de Genève. Si la lumière diffusée n'a rien perdu de sa chaleur, la consommation d'énergie a en revanche baissé de 90%.

Catégorie Energies renouvelables

Biomassezentrum Spiez
Valorisation des déchets à Spiez
Bois de récupération + déchets végétaux = courant, vapeur, chaleur et compost. Telle est la formule simplifiée du centre de traitement de la biomasse à Spiez. Et ça marche: grâce à un système de recyclage astucieux, Oberland Energie AG économise des centaines de milliers de litres de mazout et produit du compost de haute qualité. Le centre de traitement de Spiez, qui réunit une installation de méthanisation, un centre de compostage et une centrale de chauffage au bois de récupération et aux résidus de bois, a été développé et mis en oeuvre en collaboration avec la société Dr. Eicher+Pauli AG.

Catégorie Mobilité économe en énergie

System-Alpenluft AG / Einwohnergemeinde Zermatt
Le système Alpenluft
Un vent nouveau souffle sur la commune de Zermatt: ce haut lieu du tourisme helvétique mise sur un système inédit d'élimination des déchets baptisé Alpenluft, qui a pour atouts une consommation d'énergie peu élevée, une pollution sonore faible et des émissions de CO2 réduites. La toute nouvelle société System-Alpenluft AG a parfaitement calibré son système en fonction des particularités de Zermatt. Le concept de transport des déchets repose sur des chariots élévateurs latéraux électriques alimentés par les deux centrales hydrauliques des services industriels de la commune de Zermatt. Les déchets sont compressés directement sur place par des micro-conteneurs à presse, d'où une diminution des allers et retours nécessaires pour vider le conteneur. Résultat: une économie d'énergie époustouflante de 80% par rapport à un système d'élimination conventionnel.

Catégorie Bâtiments

Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl / Fanzun AG
L'hôtel Muottas Muragl carbure à l'énergie verte
Depuis le 1er janvier 2011, le Romantik Hotel Muottas Muragl, qui domine Samedan (GR), est exclusivement alimenté par des énergies renouvelables. Grâce à un système ingénieux, il produit même plus d'énergie qu'il n'en consomme. Premier hôtel des Alpes à énergie positive, il fait figure de projet-phare pour le tourisme suisse. En collaboration avec les architectes et les ingénieurs de Fanzun AG, la société Bergbahnen Engadin St. Moritz AG, propriétaire de l'hôtel, a conçu un concept énergétique global qui comprend des capteurs solaires, l'utilisation de la chaleur produite par l'exploitation du funiculaire, une installation photovoltaïque placée le long des voies ferrées et des sondes thermiques.

Prix spécial du Jury

Walter Schmid
Walter Schmid, pionnier de l'énergie
Pour la quatrième fois, le jury a attribué un prix spécial. Celui-ci est décerné à l'entrepreneur Walter Schmid pour l'ensemble de son oeuvre de pionnier de l'énergie. Au cours des trois dernières décennies, Walter Schmid a réalisé divers projets dans les domaines de l'efficacité énergétique et des énergies renouvelables. C'est lui qui a construit dans les années 1970 les premières maisons suisses équipées de capteurs solaires, de chauffages aux copeaux de bois ou de pompes à chaleur. Quelques années plus tard, il a notamment conçu le premier bâtiment administratif à façade solaire intégrée et le premier immeuble locatif Minergie. Son plus grand succès demeure cependant le procédé mondialement connu de méthanisation kompogas qui permet de générer de l'énergie avec des déchets organiques. Dernier projet en date: l'Umwelt Arena, un bâtiment à optimisation énergétique aboutie qui sera inauguré en été 2012 et qui accueille notamment une des plus grandes installations photovoltaïque de la Suisse d'une surface de 5300 m2.

Documents sur ce thème

Discours Dr. Walter Steinmann
Laudatio 2012
Photos de la remise des prix du 5 janvier 2012  Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Numéro spécial d'energeia consacré au Watt d’Or 2012

Informations supplémentaires

Communiqué de presse sur le Watt d’Or 2012
Dernière modification: 05.01.2012


Fin secteur de contenu




http://www.bfe.admin.ch/org/00483/00638/01724/05336/index.html?lang=fr