Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Ecology and protection against flood damage

For both the planning of new power plants and the reactivation of decommissioned ones, the interests of nearby residents and the fishing industry always have to be taken into account. The relevant authorities can only give the go-ahead if a solution can be found that is acceptable to all parties.

Fish corridors

Dams and weirs in rivers are normally an insurmountable obstacle for fish and invertebrates. Since many of these creatures migrate upstream and downstream, fish corridors have to be installed on such structures so that the fish can make their way upstream. There are many different types of fish corridors, and the choice has to be made on the basis of the local circumstances and the species of fish in the area.
Migration downstream is a problem that has yet to be solved at many locations. It is often the case that fish swim through the turbines, which injures the fish and causes the turbines to malfunction. However, research is being carried out in order to find a solution to downstream migration, and a breakthrough is expected to be achieved within the next few years.

Residual water

It is not permitted to take all the water out of a river in order to operate a hydropower plant. A certain amount (residual water) must be left in the river.  The specified volume of residual water must always be present in the river below the intake point, depending on the local conditions. In very dry years, for example, it is permissible for less water to be present than specified in the regulations governing residual water.

The minimum volume of residual water is specified in Article 31 of the Swiss Federal Act on the Protection of Bodies of Water. In justified exceptional cases, deviations may be made from the specified volume in both directions.  For fluvial power plants, a volume of residual water does not normally apply, since after exiting the turbine the water is fed back into the natural body of water at the foot of the dam or weir.

Floods

Reservoirs usually have a considerable impact on the body of water concerned, and in the past it was often the case that insufficient attention was paid to the problem of flooding. Particularly with very old facilities, when flooding occurs there is a high risk that build-ups of floating debris (log or driftwood jams) at the dam or weir can partially or completely block the passage of the river, which can result in very severe damage. The restoration of old power plant sites represents an opportunity to lessen this potential threat in an economical manner.

Related documents

Small Hydropower Programme, PACER
Contact: Martin Bölli
Last update: 11.09.2009


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03879/03883/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Ecologie et protection contre les crues

La planification des centrales – qu'il s'agisse de nouvelles centrales ou de réhabilitations – prend en compte l'écologie, les intérêts des riverains et de la pêche. Les autorités ne donnent leur feu vert que lorsqu'une solution satisfaisant toutes les parties a été trouvée.

Remontée du poisson

Les installations de retenue sur les cours d'eau représentent souvent un obstacle insurmontable pour les poissons et la faune invertébrée. Beaucoup de ces animaux se déplaçant dans le sens du courant et à contre-courant, des échelles à poisson sont installés sur les installations de retenue. Elles permettent de garantir le passage de la faune aquatique en remontant le courant. Il en existe de nombreuses sortes. Le choix dépend des conditions territoriales et des espèces de poissons prédominantes.
La migration dans le sens du courant continue de poser problème sur de nombreux sites à l'heure actuelle. Il arrive que les poissons se faufilent par les turbines, se blessant au passage et entraînant des défaillances au niveau de l'exploitation. Différents travaux de recherche étudient des possibilités de faire descendre le poisson sans difficulté. Ils devraient aboutir dans les années à venir.

Débit résiduel

Il est interdit de prélever toute l'eau d'un cours d'eau pour alimenter une centrale. Une partie doit continuer de s'écouler. Il s'agit du débit résiduel. Il doit toujours être disponible en aval du point de prélèvement, dans la mesure où les conditions naturelles le permettent. Lors des années très sèches, il se peut qu'il y ait moins d'eau par rapport à ce que la réglementation concernant le débit résiduel exige.

Le débit résiduel minimal est réglementé à l'article 31 de la loi fédérale sur la protection des eaux (LEaux). Dans des cas exceptionnels justifiés, il est possible de s'en écarter, dans les deux sens. S'agissant des centrales au fil de l'eau, il n'est pas usuel de prévoir un débit résiduel, étant donné que l'eau turbinée est restituée au cours d'eau naturel au pied de l'ouvrage de prélèvement.

Crues

Les installations de retenue ont la plupart du temps un impact non négligeable sur le cours d'eau concerné. Par le passé, la problématique des crues en découlant a souvent été insuffisamment considérée. En cas de crue, les installations très anciennes présentent notamment fréquemment un risque d'obturation partielle ou totale d'une section du cours d'eau par des débris flottants, en raison des superstructures situées sur le corps du barrage. On parle alors d'obstruction du lit avec effet de barrage. Il peut en résulter de graves dégâts. La réhabilitation des anciens sites offre la possibilité de pallier de manière rentable à ce danger potentiel.

Documents sur ce thème

Petites centrales hydrauliques, DIANE 10
Personne de contact: Martin Bölli
Dernière modification: 11.09.2009


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03879/03883/index.html?lang=fr