Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Hydraulic engineering

Hydraulic engineering is the largest visible aspect of a hydropower plant.
The weir (or dam) is one of the most important hydraulic engineering components. Its purpose is to maintain the incoming water at a predefined level. In small hydropower plants this normally takes the form of a weir constructed directly in the river. Weirs and dams have to be designed so that they can withstand floods without incurring damage. They also include an outlet that feeds the water that is required for the operation of the power plant. As a rule, outlets are equipped with a grill that keeps floating debris away from the system components.

High-pressure systems are particularly vulnerable to small particles in the water: at very high pressure and flow speeds, even grains of sand can damage turbines and pipelines. Sand traps or filters are therefore required that can remove as much sand and sediment from the water as possible. For this purpose the incoming water is fed into a long basin where the flow is slowed down and calmed. This allows solids to sink to the bottom so that only cleansed water is fed into the turbine. The sediment is periodically flushed out of the basin. The headwater channel connects the outlet/sand trap with the equalising reservoir, and depending on the topography and cost factors it may take the form of an open or closed channel (or in some cases a pipe). The equalising reservoir performs a similar function to that of the sand trap: the flow of the incoming water is slowed down, and sediment can then sink to the bottom. It is also used as a reservoir in order to ensure that a constant volume of water is fed into the turbine despite fluctuations in the water level. Before water flows into the pressure pipe, it has to pass through a very fine grill in order to keep any floating debris away from the turbine. Depending on the location and type of the plant, a headwater channel, equalisation reservoir or sand trap may not be required.

The water is fed into the turbine via a pressure pipe. Since the pressure inside these pipes is often very high, they are usually made of steel, but other materials such as plastics, cast iron, reinforced concrete or wood may be used, depending on the type of power plant.

Practically all turbines are susceptible to damage by floating debris (leaves, pieces of wood, ice, etc.), and a grill is therefore used to protect these valuable machines. Grills may take the form of parallel rods made from a variety of metals, or other structures such as perforated plates. Debris that builds up in front of the grill is removed on a periodical basis - in most modern facilities, this takes place automatically.

Contact: Martin Bölli
Last update: 08.10.2009


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03879/03880/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Ouvrage hydraulique

L'ouvrage hydraulique est la plus grande partie visible d'une installation hydraulique.

Le barrage en constitue une partie: il a pour but de retenir l'eau afin de maintenir un niveau minimum. Dans le cas des petites centrales hydrauliques, cette fonction est le plus souvent assurée par un ouvrage de retenue d'eau (barrage) sur le cours d'eau. L'installation de retenue doit être conçue de manière à pouvoir faire face sans dommage à des crues. Elle comporte en outre une prise d'eau assurant la dérivation du débit nécessaire pour faire fonctionner l'installation vers celle-ci. La prise d'eau est en général protégée contre les débris flottants par une grille.

Les installations à haute pression sont particulièrement vulnérables face aux petites particules en suspension dans l'eau. A une pression et une vitesse de débit très élevées, les turbines et les conduites peuvent même être endommagées par des grains de sable. Le dessableur a pour fonction d'éliminer le mieux possibles ces particules. Il s'agit d'un bassin dans lequel la vitesse de l'eau est suffisamment ralentie pour que les particules solides s'y déposent. Seule l'eau ainsi nettoyée vient ensuite alimentée la turbine. Les sédiments sont évacués périodiquement vers la rivière. Le canal d'amenée relie la prise d'eau resp. le dessableur avec le bassin  de compensation. Selon la topographie et la rentabilité, il peut s'agir d'un canal ouvert ou fermé, ou encore d'une conduite. Il a plus ou moins la même fonction que le dessableur. Le débit est ralenti de manière à ce que les sédiments puissent se déposer. Le bassin de compensation sert aussi à accumuler l'eau, afin de garantir une alimentation en eau constante de la turbine en dépit des variations de niveau du cours d'eau. Une grille – le plus souvent une grille fine – se trouve également devant l'entrée de la conduite forcée, afin d'empêcher tout débris flottant de rentrer dans la turbine. Selon l'emplacement et le type d'installation, il est possible de renoncer au canal d'amenée au bassin de compensation ou encore au dessableur.

L'eau est amenée à la turbine par la conduite forcée. Comme il y règne souvent une pression très élevée, les conduites forcées sont la plupart du temps en acier. Selon le type d'installation, elles peuvent aussi être en plastique, en fonte, en béton armé ou en bois.

Les débris flottants (feuilles mortes, bois, glace, etc.) représentent un danger pour presque toutes les turbines. Une grille empêche qu'ils ne parviennent à la turbine. Elle est constituée d'une multitude de barreaux métalliques parallèles. Il peut aussi s'agir d'une tôle perforée. Les débris flottants s'accumulant devant la grille sont enlevés régulièrement. Les installations modernes sont la plupart du temps équipée d'un dispositif de nettoyage au fonctionnement automatique.

Personne de contact: Martin Bölli
Dernière modification: 08.10.2009


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03879/03880/index.html?lang=fr