Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

  • Home
    • > General information...

Ende Navigator



General information about small hydropower

Decentral form of energy production

In the past century, trade and industry in Switzerland were supplied with energy from more than 10,000 small hydropower plants. In 1914 the Swiss water rights register listed 7,000 small hydropower plants with an output up to 10 megawatts (MW). More than 90 percent of these were facilities with a low output up to 300 kilowatts (kW), e.g. waterwheels or small turbines.

The expansion of the electricity grid to cover the entire country, together with the availability of low-priced energy from major power plants and competition from combustion engines that were both cheap and flexible, numerous small hydropower plants were closed down in the course of the 20th century.

In 1985, only around 1,000 small hydropower plants (< 10 MW) were still producing electricity, approximately 700 of which had an output of up to 300 kW. In addition there were around 400 facilities with purely mechanical use of power.

In 1990, perhaps prompted by the Chernobyl reactor disaster and the growing threat of climate change the Swiss electorate voted in favour of the incorporation of an energy article into the Federal Constitution. This move led to the adoption of the resolution on energy use in 1991, which paved the way for a new economic basis for renewable energy. Thanks to the introduction in 2008 of remuneration for feed-in at cost, even the smallest hydropower plants can now produce electricity profitably again. We can therefore expect a great deal of the enormous potential to be exploited again in the near future.

Relevance of small hydropower

In 2004 the production of electricity from small hydropower plants (< 10 MW) was estimated at around 3,400 gigawatt hours (GWh), which is equivalent to approximately 9.5 percent of total hydropower production. 490 GWh are produced in power plants with an output of less than 1 MW (1.4 percent), and around half of this comes from plants with an output of less than 300 kW.  The statistics relating to small hydropower plants are currently under revision.

Related documents

Statistics of hydroelectric installations in Switzerland
Statistics concerning renewable energy
SFOE policy paper on energy from small hydropower plants

Further information

Electricity statistics
Overall energy statistics
Contact: Martin Bölli
Last update: 08.10.2009


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03875/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

  • Home
    • > Kleinwasserkraft al...

Ende Navigator



Allgemeines zur Kleinwasserkraft

Dezentrale Energieproduktion

Im letzten Jahrhundert wurden Industrie und Gewerbe in der Schweiz durch über 10'000 Kleinwasserkraftanlagen mit Energie versorgt. 1914 wiesen die Wasserrechtsregister der Schweiz rund 7'000 Kleinwasserkraftwerke bis 10 Megawatt [MW] Leistung auf. Davon waren über 90% Anlagen kleinster Leistung bis zu 300 Kilowatt (kW) wie Wasserräder oder Kleinturbinen.

Mit dem flächendeckenden Ausbau des Stromnetzes, dem Angebot billiger Energie aus Grosskraftwerken und wegen der Konkurrenz der billig und flexibel einsetzbaren Verbrennungsmotoren setzte im 20. Jahrhundert ein grosses Kleinwasserkraftsterben ein.

1985 bestanden noch ca. 1'000 Strom produzierende Wasserkraftwerke  (<10 MW), davon ca. 700 mit einer Leistung bis 300 kW. Zusätzlich gab es ca. 400 Anlagen mit rein mechanischer Kraftverwendung.

1990 wurde vom Volk, unter dem Eindruck der Tschernobyl Reaktorkatastrophe und einer drohenden Klimaveränderung, der Energieartikel der Bundesverfassung angenommen. Darauf basierend wurde 1991 der Energienutzungsbeschluss (ENB) erlassen, welcher eine neue wirtschaftliche Basis für die erneuerbaren Energien ermöglichte. Dank der 2008 eingeführten kostendeckenden Einspeisevergütung (KEV) können auch Kleinstwasserkraftwerke wieder rentabel produzieren: Es ist daher zu erwarten, dass viele brachliegende Potenziale wieder erschlossen werden.

Relevanz der Kleinwasserkraft

2004 wurde die Produktion aus Kleinwasserkraftwerken (<10 MW) auf rund 3'400 Gigawattstunden (GWh) geschätzt. Dies entspricht ca. 9,5% der gesamten Wasserkraftproduktion. Davon stammen 490 GWh aus Kraftwerken mit einer Ausbauleistung von weniger als 1 MW (1,4%), wovon gut die Hälfte durch Kleinstwasserkraftwerke mit einer Ausbauleistung von weniger als 300 kW produziert wird. Die aktuelle Bestandesstatistik wird zurzeit neu erarbeitet.

Dokumente zum Thema

Statistik der Wasserkraftanlagen der Schweiz (WASTA)
Schweizerische Statistik der Erneuerbaren Energien
Positionspapier Energie aus Kleinwasserkraftwerken BFE

Weitere Informationen

Elektrizitätsstatistik
Gesamtenergiestatistik
Ihre Ansprechperson: Martin Bölli
Letzte Änderung: 08.10.2009


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/kleinwasserkraft/03875/index.html?lang=de