Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

  • Home
    • > The research progra...

Ende Navigator



The research programme

Introduction

In order to close the gap in the electricity supply that has to be anticipated by around 2020, production technologies that can be developed and implemented within the remaining short period of time are now of the utmost importance for Switzerland too. Gas-fired cogeneration plants are able to meet the associated requirements.

Switzerland's electricity production industry, including suppliers and the academic institutions that support it, is internationally recognised and enjoys a strong position on the market which it is important to maintain. This research programme, which was launched in 2006, is intended to help achieve this goal.

Technical and economic objectives

The main aim of the programme is to combine the various activities and coordinate them individually in order to strengthen Switzerland's position as a major centre for research and industry in the area of advanced power plant technologies. The programme is intended to secure the availability of the most suitable technologies and systems for the production of electricity in Switzerland (as well as at the international level).

To meet the declared climate objectives, it will be necessary to ensure that the processes associated with cogeneration based on gas and steam turbine technology are developed in a manner that permits the use of alternative fuels and the partial or total elimination of CO2 emissions. The main research goals are therefore as follows:

  • To increase efficiency
  • To reduce CO2 emissions
  • To promote flexible operation

In view of the extremely high demands, it is essential to focus strongly on key components.

Research priorities

To increase the electrical efficiency rate to more than 62 percent

  • By increasing the efficiency rates of components (compressors, gas turbines, steam turbines, generators), by reducing the need for cool air, and by improving process parameters (pressure, temperatures)

To reduce CO2 emissions by up to 80 percent

  • Through the use of CO2-neutral fuels, especially biomass, and by modifying processes for eliminating CO2.
    Objective: reduction of specific CO2 emissions to below 100 g per produced kWh of electricity.

Flexible, retrievable electricity production

  • Improvement of the cyclical load capacity of power plant components, improvement of load dynamics of the overall power plant process chain, new generator and (short-term) storage technologies for better support of the electricity grid

Related documents

Federal government energy research concept
Reports of programme heads

Further information

CO2 Act
Energy perspectives
Contact: Peter Jansohn
Last update: 05.09.2012


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungkraftwerk/02352/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Le programme de recherche

Situation initiale

Les technologies utilisées dans les centrales qu'il est possible de développer et de mettre en œuvre dans ce bref laps de temps sont particulièrement importantes, y compris pour la Suisse, pour pallier la pénurie d'approvisionnement en électricité qui se dessine à l'horizon 2020. Les centrales à cycle combiné alimentées au gaz remplissent précisément cette condition.

L'industrie suisse des centrales, ses fournisseurs et les milieux universitaires sur lesquels elle s'appuie sont reconnus au niveau international et occupent une forte position sur le marché qu'il convient de maintenir. Le programme démarré en 2006 doit y contribuer.

Objectifs techniques et économiques

Le programme a pour objectif de regrouper les activités et de coordonner les projets individuels afin de renforcer la position de la Suisse concernant la recherche et l'industrie dans le domaine des technologies modernes des centrales. Le programme doit veiller à ce que les technologies et les systèmes de production d'électricité les mieux adaptés soient disponibles en Suisse et également au plan international.

Afin d'atteindre les objectifs climatiques, il s'agit notamment de concevoir aussi la conduite des procédés utilisés dans les centrales au gaz à cycle combiné pour permettre l'emploi de combustibles alternatifs et la capture de tout ou partie du CO2. Les principaux objectifs de la recherche sont les suivants:

  • augmentation du rendement électrique
  • diminution des émissions de CO2
  • souplesse de l'exploitation

Vu les exigences élevées, il est indispensable de se concentrer en priorité sur les composants clés.

Points clés de la recherche

Augmentation du rendement électrique de plus de 62%

  • grâce à l'augmentation du rendement des composants (compresseur, turbine à gaz, turbine à vapeur, générateur), à la réduction du besoin d'air froid et à l'augmentation des paramètres du procédé (pressions et températures)

Diminution des émissions de CO2 jusqu'à 80%

  • utilisation de combustibles neutres en CO2, notamment de biomasse, et modifications du procédé de capture du CO2
    Objectif: diminution des émissions spécifiques de CO2 à moins de 100 g de CO2 par kWh de courant produit

Production d'électricité souple et modulable

  • amélioration de la tolérance cyclique des composants des centrales, amélioration de la dynamique des charges de toute la chaîne de procédés des centrales, nouvelles technologies de générateurs et d'accumulateurs (de courte durée) pour mieux soutenir le réseau électrique

Documents sur ce thème

Plan directeur de la recherche énergétique de la Confédération
Rapports de synthèse des chefs de programme

Informations supplémentaires

Loi sur le CO2
Perspectives énergétiques
Personne de contact: Peter Jansohn
Dernière modification: 05.09.2012


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungkraftwerk/02352/index.html?lang=fr