Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

  • Home
    • > The research progra...

Ende Navigator



The research programme

Diagram of a 10 kW prototype reactor for the solar thermal dissociation of ZnO into Zn and O2. Source: PSI
Diagram of a 10 kW prototype reactor for the solar thermal dissociation of ZnO into Zn and O2. Source: PSI Diagram of a 10 kW prototype reactor for the solar thermal dissociation of ZnO into Zn and O2. Source: PSI
Twenty-five years ago, Swiss research and industry were among the leaders in the field of development of solar thermal power plants. But since no facility was constructed in the Alps and no export market opened up, Switzerland refocused its efforts on solar thermal and photochemical conversion. It was not until the past few years, however, that solar thermal power plants made a breakthrough onto the energy market. The production of combustibles (hydrogen) via the ZnO / Zn thermochemical cycle is also being developed in Switzerland. A 300 kW pilot reactor for thermally reducing ZnO is being tested.

This programme focuses on the following areas of research: solar thermochemistry, solar heat in industrial processes and solar thermal power plants (concentrated solar power, or CSP).

Research priorities of the High-temperature Solar Energy research programme

Solar thermochemistry: finalisation of research into the ZnO / Zn cycle; development of the solar thermo-dissociation reactor (10 kW prototype and 100 kW pilot facility), together with the Odeillo project; carbothermal reduction of ZnO; research into the thermochemical production of fuels; recycling of hazardous waste.

High-temperature heat for industrial processes: engineering and implementation of systems for integrating solar heat into industrial production processes; high-temperature materials for use in solar applications; calculation of real potential.

High-temperature heat for solar thermal power plants: high-temperature materials for use in solar applications; development of projects in accordance with the needs and interests of industry in the following areas: solar reflectors (heliostats), turbines, heat exchangers, software and pilot installations, etc.

Related documents

Federal government energy research concept
Reports of programme heads
Reports on High-temperature solar energy research programme

Further information

Energy research at the Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Organisation and contacts of SFOE energy research
Hydrogen research programme
Solar heat and heat storage research programme
Photovoltaics research programme
Contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Last update: 03.11.2015


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungindustriesolar/02362/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Le programme de recherche

Schéma du réacteur prototype de 10 kW pour la dissociation solaire thermique du ZnO en Zn et O2. Source: PSI
Schéma du réacteur prototype de 10 kW pour la dissociation solaire thermique du ZnO en Zn et O2. Source: PSI Schéma du réacteur prototype de 10 kW pour la dissociation solaire thermique du ZnO en Zn et O2. Source: PSI
La recherche et l'industrie suisses ont été, il y a 25 ans, parmi les leaders dans le développement de centrales solaires thermiques. Comme aucune installation n'a pu se concrétiser dans les Alpes et qu'aucun marché d'exportation ne s'est présenté, la Suisse a recentré ses efforts sur les transformations thermosolaires et photochimiques. Ce n'est que durant ces dernières années que les centrales solaires thermiques ont fait une entrée remarquée sur le marché de l'énergie. La production de combustible (en principe, l'hydrogène) par le cycle thermochimique ZnO / Zn est également développée en Suisse. Un réacteur pilote de 300 kW est testé pour réduire thermiquement le ZnO.

Le programme se répartit sur les axes de recherche suivants: la thermochimie solaire, la chaleur solaire dans les processus industriels ainsi que les centrales solaires thermiques (Concentrated Solar Power, CSP).

Points clés du programme de recherche Énergie solaire thermique à haute température

Thermochimie solaire: finalisation des recherches sur le cycle ZnO/Zn; mise au point du réacteur solaire de thermo-dissociation (prototype de 10 kW et installation pilote de 100 kW), en collaboration avec l'Odeillo; réduction carbo-thermique du ZnO; prospection pour la production thermochimique de carburants; recyclage des déchets dangereux.

Chaleur à haute température pour des processus industriels: engineering et implémentation de systèmes pour l'intégration de la chaleur solaire dans les processus industriels de production; matériaux pour haute température en vue des applications solaires; définition du potentiel réel.

Chaleur à haute température pour des centrales héliothermiques: matériaux pour haute température en vue des applications solaires. Développement de projets selon les besoins et les intérêts de l'industrie dans les domaines suivants: héliostats, turbines, échangeurs de chaleur, logiciels et installations pilotes, etc.

Documents sur ce thème

Plan directeur de la recherche énergétique de la Confédération
Rapports de synthèse des chefs de programme
Rapports de synthèse du programme Énergie solaire thermique à haute température

Informations supplémentaires

La recherche énergétique à l’Office fédéral de l’énergie
Organisation et contacts de la recherche énergétique
Programme de recherche Hydrogène
Programme de recherche Chaleur solaire et stockage de chaleur
Programme de recherche Photovoltaïque
Personne de contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Dernière modification: 03.11.2015


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungindustriesolar/02362/index.html?lang=fr