Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Objectives / concepts

Five thermochemical methods for producing solar hydrogen
Five thermochemical methods for producing solar hydrogen Five thermochemical methods for producing solar hydrogen. Source: PSI
The application in Switzerland and throughout the world of the findings obtained from research into high-temperature solar processes and the use of the various components respond to a genuine need. In Switzerland, it is only in the area of solar thermal power plants that there are few important applications (it makes better economic sense to develop this technology in areas with more sunshine); this is why the emphasis is placed on export technologies in this area (in the same way as for other energy sources, in particular wind turbines).

With regard to solar thermochemistry (only the production of pure materials such as zinc is covered by this programme, not the production of hydrogen), the objective is to find a way to store and transport solar energy. In Switzerland, the main priority of research in this field concerns the production of zinc via the ZnO/Zn thermochemical cycle under the leadership of the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI).

In the area of high-temperature solar heat in industrial processes, the aim is to develop systems that permit the integration of solar energy into conventional production processes (combination of concentrated solar energy and fossil fuels within the scope of use of waste heat, or as part of a continuous industrial cycle); the maximum use of solar energy means a reduction of CO2 emissions, as well as lower energy costs.

Solar thermal power plants possess a great deal of potential for the production of electricity in line with future major development. At the level of research and pilot installations a great deal still needs to be done in order to improve the existing technologies (linear parabolic system, linear Fresnel system, tower power plants and dish/Stirling motor system), as well as to optimise the various power plant components (solar reflectors, concentrators, heat exchangers, turbines, control mechanisms, concentration technology, engineering, software, etc.).

Related documents

Federal government energy research concept
Concept on High-temperature solar energy research programme

Further information

Energy research at the Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Organisation and contacts of SFOE energy research
Contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Last update: 03.11.2015


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungindustriesolar/02362/02503/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Objectifs du programme / Plans directeurs

Cinq chemins thermochimiques pour la production d’hydrogène solaire
Cinq chemins thermochimiques pour la production d’hydrogène solaire Cinq chemins thermochimiques pour la production d’hydrogène solaire. Source: PSI
L'application des résultats des recherches sur les processus solaires à haute température ainsi que l'utilisation des différents composants répondent à un besoin. Seul le domaine des centrales solaires thermiques n'aura en principe pas d'applications importantes en Suisse (il est économiquement plus intéressant de mettre en place cette technologie dans des régions mieux ensoleillées). Pour cette raison l'accent sera mis dans ce domaine sur les technologies d'exportation (comme pour d'autres vecteurs énergétiques, notamment l'éolien).

Concernant la thermochimie solaire, l'objectif est de trouver le moyen de stocker et de transporter facilement l'énergie solaire. La filière prioritaire de la recherche dans ce domaine en Suisse est la production de zinc par cycle thermochimique ZnO/Zn menée par l'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI).

Le domaine de la chaleur solaire à haute température dans les processus industriels vise à mettre en place des systèmes qui permettent l'intégration de l'énergie solaire dans les processus de production traditionnels (combinaison du solaire à concentration avec des énergies fossiles dans le cadre de valorisation de rejets de chaleurs ou dans le cadre d'un cycle industriel continu). L'utilisation maximale de l'énergie solaire permet ainsi une réduction des émissions de CO2 et des coûts énergétiques.

Les centrales solaires thermiques sont des centrales possédant un fort potentiel de production d'électricité appelée à un développement considérable dans les années à venir. Au niveau de la recherche et des installations pilotes, beaucoup reste à faire pour d'une part améliorer les technologies existantes (système parabolique linéaire, système Fresnel linéaire, centrale à tour et système parabole/moteur Stirling) et d'autre part optimiser chaque composante des centrales (héliostat, concentrateurs, échangeurs de chaleur, turbines, régulation, technologie de concentration, ingénierie, logiciels, etc.).

Documents sur ce thème

Plan directeur de la recherche énergétique de la Confédération
Plan directeur du programme Énergie solaire thermique à haute température

Informations supplémentaires

La recherche énergétique à l’Office fédéral de l’énergie
Organisation et contacts de la recherche énergétique
Personne de contact: Stefan Oberholzer
Dernière modification: 03.11.2015


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungindustriesolar/02362/02503/index.html?lang=fr