Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



International activities

The main aim behind international co-operation efforts is to network findings obtained from Swiss geothermal energy research with related activities abroad, in particular:

  • EU framework research programme 7 (energy)
  • Enhanced geothermal systems pilot plant in Soultz-sous-Forêts, France
  • International Energy Agency (IEA) implementing agreement on geothermal energy
  • International Partnership for Geothermal Technology (IPGT)

EU framework research programme 7 aims to promote projects relating to enhanced geothermal systems, with special focus on the problem of induced seismic activity.

Geothermal ERA-NET

Switzerland is participating in the "Geothermal ERA-NET" project, which was approved by the EU Commission and encompasses the following countries: Iceland (project leadership), the Netherlands, Germany, France, Italy, Hungary, Slovakia, Turkey. The objectives of the 4-year programme are to improve cooperation and coordination between national research and development institutions and develop a coherent European research and development programme.

Enhanced geothermal systems pilot plant in Soultz-sous-Forêts, France

The process of obtaining energy from hot rock layers deep underground in the vicinity of Soultz-sous-Forêts (Alsace, France) has been researched and developed since 1987. This site, which is located 50 kilometres north of Strasbourg, is situated at the core of one of the largest heat anomalies in central Europe. The geological conditions in Soultz are also typical of those encountered at other sites in the Upper Rhine Plain. A team of researchers, engineers and energy specialists from all over Europe has been working on this pathfinding project for many years.

The power plant in Soultz is operated by the "Heat Mining" section of the European Economic Interest Grouping (EEIG), which was jointly established in 1996 by Pfalzwerke (Landau) and Electricité de Strasbourg. In the meantime, various other European companies have joined this organisation as active members. The main goal of the EEIG is to use this project to obtain findings relating to the management and long-term behaviour of a heat exchanger deep below the surface. In June 2008, the Soultz pilot power plant became the first facility in the world to produce electricity from an enhanced geothermal system. The facility in Soultz has an installed capacity of 1.5 MW. The energy source is an artificially created heat exchanger located at a depth of 4,000 to 5,000 metres. The Soultz enhanced geothermal systems project has been in a production and test phase since 2010. On the one hand, the project is being operated by a German/French industry consortium, and on the other hand, scientists have access to a scientific support programme. Switzerland is financing a research group via the Swiss Federal Office of Energy. In 2010, university research institutions have been pursuing separate efforts aimed at concluding cooperation agreements with the enhanced geothermal systems project. Circulation tests were carried out in 2009, and to some extent in 2010. The scientific support programme encompasses the study of the reservoir during long-term circulation, and an examination of the operational behaviour of the underground and production systems. Due to problems with the feed pumps, the operation of the power plant has had to be interrupted on a number of occasions.

IEA implementing agreement on geothermal energy

Through its involvement in this IEA implementing agreement, Switzerland is able to maintain frequent contacts with leading international players, and is thus able to obtain information, access to which would otherwise be very difficult. At the same time, Switzerland can position its own R&D achievements and distribute its findings via the existing IEA channels. Switzerland is represented in the Executive Committee by G. Siddiqi, SFOE (ExCo member) and R. Minder (alternate ExCo Member). The following areas of activity (referred to within the IEA as "annexes") are currently in progress:

  • Annex I:  Environmental Impacts of Geothermal Energy
  • Annex III:  Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS)
  • Annex VII:  Advanced Geothermal Drilling Techniques
  • Annex VIII:  Direct Use of Geothermal Energy
  • Annex X: Data Collection and Information
  • Annex XI: Induced Seismicity

Overviews and reports on the results of the various activities can be viewed on the IEA GIA (geothermal energy implementing agreement) home page.

International Partnership for Geothermal Technology (IPGT)

This partnership was established in August 2008 by the founding countries (Australia, Iceland and the USA). Switzerland joined it in October 2010, and was followed by New Zealand in 2011. The IPGT is based on a treaty, the objective of which is to implement joint specific research and development / pilot and demonstration projects. It wants to promote the development of geothermal (and especially enhanced geothermal) energy. The priorities, which are being addressed by 7 workgroups, are as follows: low-cost drilling technologies; zonal insulation and packer technology; high-temperature measuring instruments; stimulation methods; numeric simulations; exploration technologies; induced seismicity. For Switzerland, in view of the practical experiences obtained from the Basel enhanced geothermal systems project, the main focus is on stimulation methods and induced seismicity.

Links

EGS-Projekt Soultz-sous-fôrets Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
IEA-Implementing Agreement on Geothermal Energy Research and Development Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
International Partnership for Geothermal Technology Dieses Symbol soll Sie darauf hinweisen, dass der Link auf eine externe Seite geleitet wird und Sie sich somit ausserhalb unseres Dienstes befinden und wir keinerlei Gewährleistung für folgende Inhalte geben können.
Contact: Gunter Siddiqi
Last update: 20.08.2012


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschunggeothermie/02336/02489/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



International

La coopération internationale a pour but de mettre la recherche géothermique suisse en rapport avec des activités correspondantes. Voici les éléments les plus importants à cet égard:

  • le 7e programme-cadre de l'UE, domaine de l'énergie
  • l'installation pilote à technologie EGS de Soultz-sous-Forêts
  • l'Agence internationale de l'énergie et le Geothermal Implementing Agreement
  • le partenariat international pour la technologie géothermique (International Partnership for Geothermal Technology, IPGT)

Le 7e programme-cadre de recherche de l'UE prévoit la promotion de projets relevant du domaine de l'EGS en mettant particulièrement l'accent sur la problématique de la sismicité induite.

Geothermal ERA-NET

La Suisse participe au projet européen "Geothermal ERA-NET". Approuvé par la Commission européenne, ce projet réunit les pays suivants: Islande (direction de projet), Pays-Bas, Allemagne, France, Italie, Hongrie, Slovaquie, Turquie. Ce programme de quatre ans poursuit un double objectif: améliorer la collaboration et la coordination entre les institutions nationales de recherche et développement; mettre en place un programme cohérent de recherche et de développement à l'échelle européenne.

Installation pilote de type EGS de Soultz-sous-Forêts

Depuis 1987, un procédé d'extraction d'énergie de roches plutoniennes chaudes et sèches est développé sur le site alsacien de Soultz-sous-Forêts. Ce site, situé à 50 kilomètres au nord de Strasbourg, se trouve au centre d'une des plus grandes anomalies de chaleur d'Europe centrale. Les conditions géologiques présentes à Soultz se retrouvent dans d'autres sites du fossé rhénan. Une équipe internationale de chercheurs, d'ingénieurs et de spécialistes de l'énergie venus de toute l'Europe travaille depuis plusieurs années à ce projet prometteur.

La centrale de Soultz est exploitée par le Groupement européen d'intérêt économique (GEIE) dénommé "Exploitation minière de la chaleur", une entreprise commune constituée en 1996 par Pfalzwerke, à Landau, et Electricité de Strasbourg. Depuis, d'autres sociétés européennes se sont ralliées au projet pour y participer activement. Le GEIE vise, grâce à ce projet, à réunir des expériences concernant la gestion et le comportement à long terme d'un échangeur de chaleur en profondeur. En juin 2008, pour la première fois au monde, on a pu produire du courant, à Soultz, grâce à une centrale de type EGS. Cette dernière a une puissance installée de 1,5 MW et sa source d'énergie est située à 4000-4500 m de profondeur, dans un échangeur de chaleur artificiel. Depuis 2010, le projet EGS de Soultz est en phase de production et de test. Le projet est mené par un consortium industriel franco-allemand; quant aux scientifiques, ils ont accès au projet grâce à un programme scientifique d'accompagnement. La Suisse finance un groupe de chercheurs par l'intermédiaire de l'Office fédéral de l'énergie. En 2010, des instituts de recherche universitaires ont cherché à conclure individuellement des contrats de coopération avec le projet EGS. Des tests de circulation ont été effectués depuis décembre 2009 et partiellement en 2010. Le programme d'accompagnement scientifique comprend l'étude du réservoir pendant une phase de circulation à long terme ainsi que l'examen des performances de fonctionnement des installations de sous-sol et de production. L'exploitation de la centrale a dû être interrompue à plusieurs reprises en raison de problèmes rencontrés par les pompes de circulation.

Geothermal Implementing Agreement (GIA) de l'AIE

Grâce à sa participation au Geothermal Implementing Agreement (GIA) de l'AIE, la Suisse peut entretenir des contacts réguliers avec les pays leaders dans le domaine de la géothermie et, par là, avoir accès à des informations difficiles à obtenir autrement. Dans le même temps, ses résultats en matière de recherche et développement lui assurent un positionnement international et sont diffusés par les canaux de l'AIE. La Suisse est représentée au Comité exécutif par G. Siddiqi, de l'OFEN (ExCo Member), et R. Minder (alternate ExCo Member). Les travaux portent actuellement sur les domaines ("Annexes") suivants:

  • Annexe I: Environmental Impacts of Geothermal Energy
  • Annexe III: Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS)
  • Annexe VII: Advanced Geothermal Drilling Techniques
  • Annexe VIII: Direct Use of Geothermal Energy
  • Annexe X: Data Collection and Information
  • Annexe XI: Induced Seismicity

Les résultats des travaux ainsi que les rapports de synthèse sont accessibles sur la page du GIA du site Internet de l'AIE.

International Partnership for Geothermal Technology (IPGT)

Le partenariat international pour la technologie géothermique (IPGT) a été fondé par l'Australie, l'Islande et les USA. La Suisse a rejoint le partenariat en octobre 2010 et la Nouvelle Zélande en 2011. L'IPGT s'appuie sur un traité international dont l'objectif est de mener en commun des projets spécifiques de R&D, de démonstration et des projets pilotes. L'organisation a pour but de promouvoir le développement de la géothermie profonde, dans le domaine EGS notamment. Elaborées par sept groupes de travail, les priorités sont les suivantes: technologies de forage peu onéreuses, isolation zonale et technologie packer, instruments de mesure pour haute température, méthodes de simulation, simulations numériques, technologies d'exploration, sismicité induite. Pour la Suisse, compte tenu des expériences réalisées dans le cadre du projet EGS bâlois, les méthodes de simulation et la sismicité induite figurent au premier plan.

Liens

EGS-Projekt Soultz-sous-fôrets Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
IEA-Implementing Agreement on Geothermal Energy Research and Development Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
International Partnership for Geothermal Technology Ce symbole doit vous indiquer que le lien pointe vers une page externe, que vous vous trouvez donc à l'exterieur de notre service, et de ce fait, nous ne pouvons vous donner aucune garantie pour les contenus suivants.
Personne de contact: Gunter Siddiqi
Dernière modification: 20.08.2012


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschunggeothermie/02336/02489/index.html?lang=fr