Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Objectives / concepts

The programme is divided into two sections – technologies and applications – with the following areas of focus.

Technologies

  • Conversion of heat into electricity: Switzerland is a front-runner In the field of thermoelectric material research. The programme aims to produce models for innovative applications in this field, and examine their feasibility. Another objective here is to increase the thermoelectric figure of merit (ZT), which defines the degree of efficiency, from the present-day ZT=1 to ZT=2 through the use of new materials. 
  • High-temperature superconductivity (HTSC): The theoretical savings potential with this technology is equivalent to approximately 1 to 3 percent of the level of electricity consumption. Progress is being made with the development of conductors. It is now essential to record the findings obtained to date, and to push ahead with materials research in order to be able to participate in the breakthrough in the development of conductor technology.
  • Efficient compressed-air storage: Efficient energy storage is required for mobile applications and for stochastic electricity production from renewable energy sources. For compressed-air storage, theoretical calculations indicate a cycle efficiency of up to 70 percent. Research into the practical feasibility of an innovative isothermal storage concept using functional models is therefore being strategically pursued, though here the involvement of an industry partner is an absolute prerequisite.

Scope of application

  • Efficient drives and motors: Research into efficient motors and drive systems in order to utilise the savings potential of 20 to 25 percent (approx. 5,000 GWh) of electricity consumption in this area. The savings potential of integral permanent magnet motors alone is around 75 GWh p.a., and with a new type of stepping motor this figure is estimated at 100 GWh.  
  • Information and communication technology: Technological fundamentals for increasing the efficiency of various communication devices. Technical analysis and studies of an efficient cooling system for computer centres, servers, VDSL modems, set-top boxes, etc., as the basis for identifying measures for increasing the degree of efficiency.
  • Appliances: Innovative technological concepts for reducing the level of consumption of household appliances such as tumble dryers, refrigerators, mini-bars, etc., in standby mode and during operation, with the involvement of industry players. Technological fundamentals for efficient automation systems in private households.

Related documents

Federal government energy research concept
Concept on Electricity technologies and applications research programme
Reports on Electricity technologies and applications research programme
Contact: Roland Brüniger
Last update: 04.09.2012


Ende Inhaltsbereich





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungelektrizitaet/01739/01744/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Objectifs du programme / Plans directeurs

Le programme, qui comprend une partie consacrée aux technologies et une autre aux applications, est aussi divisé en dossiers prioritaires spécialisés, à savoir:

Partie "Technologies"

  • Conversion de l'énergie thermique en énergie électrique: la Suisse est à la pointe concernant la recherche sur les matériaux thermoélectriques. De nouvelles applications relatives à l'utilisation de la chaleur doivent être modélisées et leur faisabilité étudiée. La valeur ZT ("figure of merit") définissant l'efficacité doit être améliorée grâce à de nouveaux matériaux pour passer de ZT=1 (valeur actuelle) à ZT=2.
  • Supraconducteur à haute température (HTSC): le potentiel théorique d'économies d'énergie de la HTSC représente environ 1-3% de la consommation d'électricité. Le développement de conducteurs progresse et il est important de maintenir le niveau de connaissances et de poursuivre sur la voie de la recherche concernant les matériaux, afin de garantir la présence de la Suisse en cas de percée dans la technologie des conducteurs.
  • Stockage efficace par air comprimé: un stockage d'énergie efficace est nécessaire pour les applications mobiles ainsi que pour la production stochastique d'électricité grâce aux énergies renouvelables. Des calculs théoriques révèlent une efficacité de cycle allant jusqu'à 70% pour le stockage par air comprimé. Une étude de faisabilité pratique d'un nouveau concept de stockage isotherme, fondée sur des modèles de fonction, revêt donc une importance stratégique. Une collaboration avec un partenaire de l'industrie s'impose pour ce faire.

Partie "Applications"

  • Moteurs et systèmes d'entraînement efficaces: recherche de moteurs et de systèmes d'entraînement efficaces afin de réaliser le potentiel d'économie de 20-25% (5000 GWh) qu'offre la consommation d'électricité des moteurs. Le moteur intégral à aimants permanents laisse présager à lui seul un potentiel d'économie de 75 GWh par an. Ce potentiel est même estimé à 100 GWh pour un nouveau type de moteur pas à pas.
  • Informatique / communication: bases techniques pour améliorer l'efficacité de différents appareils de communication. Analyse technique et examens dans le but de refroidir des centres de calcul, des serveurs, des modems VDSL, des boîtiers décodeurs, etc., comme point de départ de mesures d'amélioration de l'efficacité.
  • Appareils: nouveaux concepts techniques visant à réduire la consommation des appareils électroménagers comme les sèche-linge, les réfrigérateurs, les minibars, etc. en mode veille et en fonctionnement (en collaboration avec l'industrie). Bases techniques pour des systèmes domotiques efficaces destinés aux particuliers.

Documents sur ce thème

Plan directeur de la recherche énergétique de la Confédération
Concept du programme de recherche Technologies et utilisations de l'électricité
Rapports de synthèse du programme de recherche Technologies et utilisations de l'électricité
Personne de contact: Roland Brüniger
Dernière modification: 04.09.2012


Fin secteur de contenu





http://www.bfe.admin.ch/forschungelektrizitaet/01739/01744/index.html?lang=fr