Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energy consumption up 1.9% in 2016

Bern, 22.06.2017 - Switzerland's final energy consumption increased by 1.9% in 2016 to 854,300 terajoules (TJ) compared to 2015. One significant factor in the increase was the cooler weather experienced compared to that year. Other contributory factors were the positive developments in the economy and the continuing population growth.

The 1.9% increase in final energy consumption over the previous year was caused in the main by the cooler weather experienced in 2016. The number of heating degree days, a significant indicator of the amount of energy used for heating, rose by 6.7% compared to 2015. Other factors which also contributed to the higher consumption of energy were the main long-term drivers of energy consumption, namely the permanently resident population (+1.1%), gross domestic product  (+1.3%), number of registered motor vehicles (+1.6%) and the number of homes (an increase was observed, but no detailed figures are available as yet). While an increase in the long-term drivers of energy consumption pushed use of energy up, measures to increase energy efficiency and use of alternate sources tended to stem the general growth in energy consumption. The annual ex-post analyses of energy consumption (to be published in October 2017) will provide further information about the main factors influencing energy consumption.

Increase in consumption of energy carriers for heating

Consumption of extra-light heating oil rose by 2.4% and that of gas by 3.8%. Electricity consumption remained unchanged at the same level as in 2015 (see SFOE press release of April 21, 2017). These three energy carriers contributed more than half of the final energy consumed (2016: 53.8%).

Use of industrial waste for heating has increased by 5.9% (proportion of final energy consumption in 2016: 1.3%). The use of coal declined (-8.1%) as did consumption of heavy types of heating oil (-52.0%) while use of petroleum coke increased (+122.5%). The proportion these three energy carriers contributed to overall energy consumption is minimal (<1%).

Slight increase in vehicle fuel consumption

Consumption of vehicle fuel rose slightly overall for the first time in three years compared to the previous year (+0.4%). The trend of substituting diesel for petrol as vehicle fuel continued unabated: sales of diesel rose by 1.1%, while the consumption of petrol fell by 3.1%. Sales of aviation fuel increased by 4.7%. Fossil fuels provided one third (34.2%) of the final energy consumed.

Consumption of energy from renewables also up

The effect of the cold weather was also reflected in the consumption of the renewable energy carriers which were used for heating. Use of wood for heating rose by 7.6%. Use of ambient heat with heat pumps was 10.6% above the value for 2015, while consumption from district heating (+6.2%) and solar heating plants also increased (+3.8%). The proportion these three energy carriers contributed to overall energy consumption in 2016 was 9.1% (wood for energy production: 4.6%, ambient heat: 1.9%, district heating plants: 2.3%, solar heat: 0.3%).

Direct consumption of biogas remained the same. Taking into account biogas (which figures statistically as natural gas) fed into the natural gas mains, use of biogas rose by 5.8%. Biogas fed into the mains constituted 0.9% of the overall gas consumption in 2016.

Consumption of biogenic fuels increased significantly in comparison to 2015 (+72.0%) and has thus increased sevenfold within the last three years. The proportion of biogenic fuels in the overall sales of petrol and diesel was 1.6% in 2016 (2015: 0.9%). Abolishment of the petroleum tax on such fuels and the fact that they are now imputed to the CO2 compensation measures led to increased sales.

Switzerland's overall energy statistics for 2016 will be available on Internet in the second half of July and in print from the beginning of August 2017. An initial summary of the statistics is available immediately (see attachment).

Address for enquiries:

Marianne Zünd, Head of Media and Political Affairs SFOE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Editor:

Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energieverbrauch 2016 um 1,9% gestiegen

Bern, 22.06.2017 - Der Endenergieverbrauch der Schweiz ist 2016 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 1,9% auf 854`300 Terajoule (TJ) gestiegen. Ein wichtiger Grund dafür ist die im Vergleich zum Vorjahr kühlere Witterung. Zum Verbrauchsanstieg trugen aber auch die positive Wirtschaftsentwicklung und das anhaltende Bevölkerungswachstum bei.

Der Anstieg des Endenergieverbrauches um 1,9% gegenüber dem Vorjahr ist in erster Linie auf die etwas kühlere Witterung im Jahr 2016 zurückzuführen. Die Anzahl Heizgradtage, ein wichtiger Indikator für den Energieverbrauch zu Heizzwecken, nahm gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 6,7% zu. Zum höheren Energieverbrauch haben auch die langfristigen Treiber wie die ständige Wohnbevölkerung (+1,1%), das Bruttoinlandprodukt (+1,3%), der Motorfahrzeugbestand (+1,6%) und der Wohnungsbestand (Zuwachs, es liegen jedoch noch keine detaillierten Zahlen vor) beigetragen. Während der Zuwachs der langfristigen Treiber den Energieverbrauch erhöht, wirken Effizienzsteigerungen und Substitutionseffekte tendenziell dämpfend auf das Wachstum des Energieverbrauches. Zu den Bestimmungsfaktoren der Energieverbrauchsentwicklung werden die jährlichen Ex-Post-Analysen des Energieverbrauches weitere Aufschlüsse liefern können (Publikation im Oktober 2017).

Verbrauchsanstieg von Energieträgern zu Heizzwecken

Der Verbrauch von Heizöl extra-leicht stieg um 2,4% an, derjenige von Erdgas um 3,8%. Der Elektrizitätsverbrauch blieb unverändert und lag auf dem Vorjahresniveau (siehe Medienmitteilung BFE vom 21. April 2017). Diese drei Energieträger machen mehr als die Hälfte des Endenergieverbrauches aus (2016: 53,8%).

Die energetische Verwendung von Industrieabfällen hat um 5,9% zugenommen (Anteil am Endenergieverbrauch 2016: 1,3%). Abgenommen hat der Verbrauch von Kohle (-8,1%) und den schweren Heizölsorten (-52,0%), zugenommen jener von Petrolkoks (+122,5%). Der Anteil dieser drei Energieträger am gesamten Endenergieverbrauch ist gering (<1%).

Treibstoffverbrauch leicht gestiegen

Der Treibstoffverbrauch insgesamt hat erstmals seit drei Jahren gegenüber dem Vorjahr wieder leicht zugenommen (+0,4%). Der Trend zur Substitution von Benzin durch Dieseltreibstoff setzte sich ungebrochen fort: Der Absatz von Dieselöl erhöhte sich um 1,1%, der Benzinverbrauch ging um 3,1% zurück. Der Absatz von Flugtreibstoffen stieg um 4,7%. Die fossilen Treibstoffe machen gut einen Drittel (34,2%) am gesamten Endenergieverbrauch aus.

Verbrauchsanstieg auch bei den erneuerbaren Energien

Die kühlere Witterung wirkte sich auch auf den Verbrauch der erneuerbaren Energieträger zu Heizzwecken aus. Der Verbrauch von Energieholz stieg um 7,6%. Auch die Nutzung von Umgebungswärme mit Wärmepumpen lag 10,6% über dem Vorjahreswert, ebenso der Verbrauch von Fernwärme (+6,2%) und Solarwärme (+3,8%). Der Anteil dieser Energieträger am gesamten Endenergieverbrauch 2016 betrug 9,1% (Energieholz: 4,6%, Umgebungswärme: 1,9%, Fernwärme: 2,3%, Solarwärme: 0,3%).

Die direkte Nutzung von Biogas blieb konstant. Unter Berücksichtigung des ins Erdgasnetz eingespeisten Biogas (das statistisch unter Gas verbucht wird), ergibt sich ein Anstieg des Biogasverbrauchs um 5,8%. Am gesamten Gasverbrauch machte das eingespeiste Biogas 2016 0,9% aus.

Der Verbrauch der biogenen Treibstoffe nahm gegenüber dem Vorjahr wiederum deutlich zu (+72,0%) und hat sich somit innerhalb der letzten drei Jahre insgesamt versiebenfacht. Der Anteil der biogenen Treibstoffe am gesamten Absatz von Benzin und Diesel lag 2016 bei 1,6% (2015: 0,9%). Neben der Befreiung der biogenen Treibstoffe von der Mineralölsteuer wirkt sich auch deren Anrechnung als CO2-Kompensationsmassnahme verbrauchssteigernd aus.

Die Schweizerische Gesamtenergiestatistik 2016 ist ab der zweiten Hälfte Juli auf Internet verfügbar und Anfang August 2017 in gedruckter Form erhältlich. Ab sofort verfügbar ist ein erster zusammenfassender Überblick (siehe Anhang).

Adresse für Rückfragen:

Marianne Zünd, Leiterin Medien und Politik BFE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Herausgeber:

Bundesamt für Energie
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=de