Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Electricity consumption up 1.4% in 2015

Bern, 19.04.2016 - In 2015 electricity consumption in Switzerland increased by 1.4% to 58.2 billion kilowatt hours (kWh). Domestic consumption (including losses occurring in transmission and distribution) was 62.6 billion kWh. Production at domestic power plants fell by 5.3% to 66.0 billion kWh, or 63.7 billion kWh after deduction of 2.3 billion kWh of electricity consumed by storage pumps. The electricity export surplus of 1.0 billion kWh in 2015 was 4.5 billion kWh lower than the previous year; this led to a decrease in the export trade balance in Swiss francs to 234 million francs in contrast to 442 million francs in 2014.

Switzerland's electricity consumption (that is domestic consumption after deduction of 4.4 billion kWh lost in transmission and distribution) rose by 1.4% in 2015 to 58.2 billion kWh (2014: 57.5 billion kWh). The increase in consumption by quarter in 2015 was +3.4% (first quarter), +0.4% (second quarter), +1.1% (third quarter), and +0.3% (fourth quarter).

The following changes in the most significant factors influencing electricity consumption were seen in 2015:

  • Development of the economy: Switzerland's gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 0.9% in 2015 (source: State Secretariat for Economic Affairs, SECO).
  • Development of the population: According to the "mean population growth" scenario 2010 of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office (SFSO), the population is increasing by around 0.9% per annum. (The SFSO has not yet published any official data relating to the development of the population in 2015.)
  • Weather: In 2015, the number of heating degree days increased over 2014 by 10.5% (see table in appendix). Since about 10% of the electricity consumed in Switzerland is used for heating (according to the analysis of energy consumption by specific use, SFOE/Prognos 2015), this development led to a rise in consumption in 2015 compared to 2014. (2014 was the warmest year in Switzerland since records began to be kept in 1864.)

Average domestic electricity production

Electricity production (domestic production prior to deduction of 2.3 billion kWh consumed by storage pumps) at Switzerland's power plants fell in 2015 by 5.3% to 66.0 billion kWh (2014: 69.6 billion kWh). Domestic production in the first and second quarters of 2015 was greater than that for 2014 (+3.7% and +1.8% respectively). In contrast, domestic production in the third and fourth quarters was significantly lower than in 2014 (-10.7% and -14.9% respectively).

Hydropower plants (fluvial and storage power plants) generated 0.5% more electricity than in the previous year (fluvial power plants, -3.8%; storage power plants, +3.7%). During the dry summer of 2015, hydropower production rose by 1.2% (fluvial power plants +0.6%, storage power plants +1.8%), while production fell in the two winter quarters by 0.5% (fluvial power plants -11.4%, mainly because of lower than average precipitation in the fourth quarter, storage power plants +5.7%, mainly because of increased generation in the first quarter compared to 2014).

Electricity production from the five Swiss nuclear power plants (NPP) fell by 16.2% to 22.1 billion kWh (2014: 26.4 billion kWh). This fall in production is due to the exceptional production stoppages at Beznau I + II and Leibstadt nuclear power plants. The availability rate of Switzerland's NPPs was 76.0% (2014: 90.9%).

Hydropower plants contributed 59.9% to overall electricity production, followed by nuclear power plants (33.5%), conventional thermal plants and plants using renewable energy (6.6%).

Export surplus in 2015

With imports totalling 42.3 billion kWh and exports of 43.3 billion kWh, the balance for 2015 was an export surplus of 1.0 billion kWh (2014: export surplus of 5.5 billion kWh).  In the first and fourth quarters, Switzerland imported 3.3 billion kWh net (2014: 0.7 billion kWh) and in the second and third quarters exports of electricity amounted to 4.3 billion kWh net (2014: 6.2 billion kWh).

Revenues from electricity exports amounted to 2,033 million francs (4.72 cents/kWh). Expenditure of 1,799 million francs (4.26 cents/kWh) was incurred for imports. Switzerland's positive balance of foreign trade fell by 47.1% to 234 million francs (2014: 442 million francs).

Address for enquiries:

Marianne Zünd, Head of Communication SFOE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Editor:

Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Stromverbrauch 2015 um 1,4% gestiegen

Bern, 19.04.2016 - Im Jahr 2015 ist der Stromverbrauch in der Schweiz um 1,4% auf 58,2 Milliarden Kilowattstunden (Mrd. kWh) gestiegen. Der Inlandverbrauch (zuzüglich Übertragungs- und Verteilverluste) lag bei 62,6 Mrd. kWh. Die Landeserzeugung der einheimischen Kraftwerke sank um 5,3% auf 66,0 Mrd. kWh bzw. erreichte ein Niveau von 63,7 Mrd. kWh nach Abzug des Verbrauchs der Speicherpumpen von 2,3 Mrd. kWh. Der mengenmässige Stromexportüberschuss lag im Jahr 2015 mit 1,0 Mrd. kWh um 4,5 Mrd. kWh unter dem Vorjahreswert, was zu einem Rückgang des Aussenhandelssaldos in Schweizer Franken auf 234 Mio. Franken gegenüber 442 Mio. Franken im 2014 führte.

Der schweizerische Elektrizitätsverbrauch (entspricht dem Landesverbrauch nach Abzug der Übertragungs- und Verteilverluste von 4,4 Mrd. kWh) stieg 2015 um 1,4% auf 58,2 Mrd. kWh (2014: 57,5 Mrd. kWh). Die quartalsweisen Verbrauchszunahmen betrugen im 2015 + 3,4% (1. Quartal), + 0,4% (2. Quartal), + 1,1% (3. Quartal) und + 0,3% (4. Quartal).

Die wichtigen Einflussgrössen auf den Elektrizitätsverbrauch zeigen im Jahr 2015 folgende Entwicklungen:

  • Wirtschaftsentwicklung: Das Bruttoinlandprodukt (BIP) nahm 2015 gemäss den ersten provisorischen Ergebnissen um 0,9% zu (Quelle: Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft, SECO).
  • Bevölkerungsentwicklung: Die Bevölkerung der Schweiz stieg gemäss dem ,mittleren" Bevölkerungsszenario 2010 des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS) um rund 0,9% pro Jahr. (Das BFS hat noch keine offiziellen Daten zur Entwicklung der Wohnbevölkerung im Jahr 2015 publiziert.)
  • Witterung: 2015 nahmen die Heizgradtage gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 10,5% zu (siehe Tabelle im Anhang). Da in der Schweiz gegen 10% des Stromverbrauchs für das Heizen verwendet werden (Analysen des Energieverbrauchs nach Verwendungszweck, BFE/Prognos 2015), bewirkte diese Entwicklung einen Anstieg des Stromverbrauchs gegenüber dem Vorjahr (Das Jahr 2014 war das wärmste Jahr seit Messbeginn 1864)

Mittlere inländische Elektrizitätsproduktion

Die Elektrizitätsproduktion (Landeserzeugung vor Abzug des Verbrauchs der Speicherpumpen von 2,3 Mrd. kWh) des schweizerischen Kraftwerkparks sank 2015 um 5,3% auf 66,0 Mrd. kWh (2014: 69,6 Mrd. kWh). Im 1. und 2. Quartal lag die Inlanderzeugung über dem entsprechenden Vorjahreswert (+ 3,7% resp. + 1,8%). Im 3. und 4. Quartal des Jahres lag die Inlanderzeugung hingegen deutlich unter den entsprechenden Vorjahreswerten (- 10,7% resp. - 14,9%).

Die Wasserkraftanlagen (Laufkraftwerke und Speicherkraftwerke) produzierten 0,5% mehr Elektrizität als im Vorjahr (Laufkraftwerke - 3,8%, Speicherkraftwerke + 3,7%). Im trockenen Sommer 2015 stieg die Produktion der Wasserkraftwerke um 1,2% (Laufkraftwerke + 0,6%, Speicherkraftwerke + 1,8%), in den beiden Winterquartalen ergab sich hingegen eine Produktionsabnahme von 0,5% (Laufkraftwerke - 11,4% vor allem wegen unterdurchschnittlicher Niederschlagsmengen im 4. Quartal, Speicherkraftwerke + 5,7% vor allem wegen Mehrproduktion im 1. Quartal im Vergleich zum Vorjahr).

Die Stromproduktion der fünf schweizerischen Kernkraftwerke sank um 16,2% auf 22,1 Mrd. kWh (2014: 26,4 Mrd. kWh). Dies ist vor allem zurückzuführen auf ausserordentliche Stillstände der Kernkraftwerke Beznau I + II sowie des Kernkraftwerks Leibstadt. Die Verfügbarkeit des schweizerischen Kernkraftwerkparks erreichte 76,0% (2014: 90,9%).

Am gesamten Elektrizitätsaufkommen waren die Wasserkraftwerke zu 59,9%, die Kernkraftwerke zu 33,5% sowie die konventionell-thermischen und erneuerbaren Anlagen zu 6,6% beteiligt.

Exportüberschuss im Jahre 2015

Bei Importen von 42,3 Mrd. kWh und Exporten von 43,3 Mrd. kWh ergab sich 2015 ein Exportüberschuss von 1,0 Mrd. kWh (2014: Exportüberschuss von 5,5 Mrd. kWh). Im ersten und im vierten Quartal importierte die Schweiz per Saldo 3,3 Mrd. kWh (2014: 0,7 Mrd. kWh), im zweiten und dritten Quartal exportierte sie per Saldo 4,3 Mrd. kWh (2014: 6,2 Mrd. kWh).

Der Erlös aus den Stromexporten betrug 2'033 Mio. Franken (4,72 Rp./kWh). Für die Importe fielen Ausgaben von 1'799 Mio. Franken an (4,26 Rp./kWh). Der positive Aussenhandelssaldo der Schweiz sank um 47,1% auf 234 Mio. Franken (2014: 442 Mio. Franken).

Adresse für Rückfragen:

Marianne Zünd, Leiterin Kommunikation BFE, Tel. 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Herausgeber:

Bundesamt für Energie
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=de