Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energy consumption down by 7.7% in 2014

Bern, 25.06.2015 - In 2014, Switzerland's final energy consumption fell by 7.7% to 825,770 terajoules (TJ) compared to the previous year. The warm weather experienced in 2014 had a significant effect on Swiss energy consumption.

At 825,770 TJ the final energy consumption in 2014 has reached the lowest level since 17 years. The last time a lower final energy consumption was recorded, was in 1997 (823,260 TJ). This fall in energy consumption by 7.7% was mainly due to the exceptionally warm weather in 2014. According to Meteo Schweiz, the national meteorology service, 2014 and 2011 were the warmest years on record since measurement began in 1864. Heating degree days, an important indicator for the amount of energy used for heating, decreased by 19.9% compared to 2013. Other factors, however, which influence the long-term growth trend of energy comsumption, have increased in 2014:  population (+1.2%), gross domestic product (+2.0%), number of homes (increase was seen, but detailed statistics are not available as yet), and number of motor vehicles (+1.6%).

Sharp drop in consumption of energy carriers for heating

The warm weather led to a significant decrease in consumption of energy carriers for heating purposes: Consumption of extra-light heating oil declining by 24.7% and that of gas by 11.3% compared to 2013. Electricity consumption decreased by 3.1% (see SFOE press release of 16 April 2015). However, consumption of energy generated from industrial waste (+13.2%) and from coal (+4.2%) increased. Consumption of heavy types of heating oil fell by 57.5%, and that of petroleum coke rose by 18.1%. 

Vehicle fuel consumption slightly down

Overall vehicle fuel consumption has slightly decreased compared to 2013 (-0.5%). The trend of substituting diesel for petrol as vehicle fuel continued unabated: Sales of diesel rose by 2.5% while petrol consumption fell again (-4.0%), a trend that has been observed every year since 2001. Sales of aviation fuel increased by 0.7%.

Renewable energy consumption down too

The warm weather in 2014 also affected the consumption of renewable energies used for heating. Consumption of wood for heating fell by 14.7%. A decline of 7.6% was also seen in the use of ambient heat with heat pumps and in the use of district heating (- 8.9%). In spite of the warmer weather, use of solar heating increased by 8.3%.

Direct use of biogas increased by 1.1%. Taking into account biogas fed into the natural gas mains (which is statistically entered as natural gas), use of biogas rose by 11.3%. The use of biofuels increased significantly by 81.3%.

Revision of fossil fuels data

Admixtures of biofuels to gasoline and diesel are gaining importance. Therefore, with retroactive effect as of 2008, the admixtures of biofuels will be deducted from the gasoline and diesel consumption values. The admixtures are now contained in the "other renewable energies" category under the heading "biogenic fuels". In comparison to the previous year, consumption data 2013 of gasoline are reduced by 130 TJ (- 0.1%) and of diesel by 430 TJ (- 0.4%).

Energy consumption in the industry and the service sector

The energy consumption of 19 industry and services groups, published annually by the SFOE, is based on a sample and an extrapolation procedure of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office (SFSO). The definition and the data source of the employees in the Business and Enterprise Register, which forms the basis for the definition of the population used for the drawing of the sample, have been revised. This influences the extrapolation procedure and in particular the comparability of the results 2014 with previous years. The SFSO is currently examining, to what extent results can be made available, which allow a comparison of the energy consumption in the years 2013 and 2014 with a minimized impact of the revised framework conditions. Therefore, the energy consumption data by industry and services groups will be published by the end of September (instead of July).

The total energy consumption data of Switzerland and broken down by economic sectors are not affected by the SFSO examination. The necessary basis for compiling these statistics has been drawn from the available evaluations of the data.

Switzerland's overall energy statistics for 2014 will be available on Internet in the second half of July and in print from the beginning of August 2015. An initial summary of the statistics is available immediately (see attachment).

Address for enquiries:

Marianne Zünd, Head of Communication SFOE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Editor:

Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energieverbrauch 2014 um 7,7% gesunken

Bern, 25.06.2015 - Der Endenergieverbrauch der Schweiz ist 2014 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 7,7% auf 825`770 Terajoule (TJ) gesunken. Die warme Witterung hat sich im Jahre 2014 deutlich auf den schweizerischen Energieverbrauch ausgewirkt.

Mit 825`770 TJ wurde 2014 der tiefste Endenergieverbrauch der letzten 17 Jahre registriert. Letztmals lag der Endenergieverbrauch 1997 tiefer (823`260 TJ). Der Rückgang des Endenergieverbrauches um 7,7% gegenüber dem Vorjahr ist in erster Linie auf die ausgesprochen warme Witterung im Jahr 2014 zurückzuführen. Gemäss Meteo Schweiz war 2014 zusammen mit 2011 das wärmste Jahr seit Messbeginn 1864. Die Anzahl Heizgradtage, ein wichtiger Indikator für den Energieverbrauch zu Heizzwecken, nahm gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 19,9% ab. Hingegen stiegen im 2014 Faktoren, die den langfristigen Wachstumstrend des Energieverbrauchs bestimmen: Ständige Wohnbevölkerung +1,2%, Bruttoinlandprodukt +2,0%, Wohnungsbestand (Zuwachs, jedoch detaillierte Zahlen noch nicht verfügbar), Motorfahrzeugbestand +1,6%.

Starker Rückgang von Energieträgern zu Heizzwecken

Die warme Witterung bewirkte einen deutlichen Rückgang des Verbrauchs von Energieträgern zu Heizzwecken: Der Verbrauch von Heizöl extra-leicht sank um 24,7%, derjenige von Erdgas um 11,3% gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Der Elektrizitätsverbrauch reduzierte sich um 3,1% (siehe Medienmitteilung BFE vom 16. April 2015). Zugenommen hat die energetische Verwendung von Industrieabfällen (+13,2%) und Kohle (+4,2%). Der Verbrauch der schweren Heizölsorten sank um 57,5%, derjenige von Petrolkoks stieg um 18,1%.

Treibstoffverbrauch leicht gesunken

Der Treibstoffverbrauch insgesamt sank leicht gegenüber dem Vorjahr (-0,5%). Der Trend zur Substitution von Benzin durch Dieseltreibstoff setzte sich ungebrochen fort: Der Absatz von Dieselöl erhöhte sich um 2,5%, hingegen war der Benzinverbrauch wie jedes Jahr seit 2001 rückläufig (-4,0%). Der Absatz von Flugtreibstoffen stieg um 0,7%.

Verbrauchsrückgang auch bei den erneuerbaren Energien

Die warme Witterung wirkte sich auch auf den Verbrauch der erneuerbaren Energieträger zu Heizzwecken aus. Der Verbrauch von Energieholz sank um 14,7%. Auch die Nutzung von Umgebungswärme durch Wärmepumpen lag 7,6% unter dem Vorjahreswert, ebenso der Verbrauch von Fernwärme (-8,9%). Trotz der warmen Witterung zugenommen hat die Nutzung von Solarwärme (+8,3%).

Die direkte Nutzung von Biogas erhöhte sich um 1,1%. Unter Berücksichtigung des ins Erdgasnetz eingespeiste Biogas (das statistisch als Erdgas verbucht wird), ergibt sich ein Anstieg des Biogasverbrauchs von 11,3%. Der Verbrauch der biogenen Treibstoffe nahm deutlich zu (+81,3%).

Revision bei den fossilen Treibstoffen

Die Beimischungen biogener Treibstoffe zu Benzin und Diesel gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Deshalb werden rückwirkend ab 2008 bei Benzin und Diesel die Beimischungen von biogenen Treibstoffen abgezogen. Die Beimischungen sind bei den übrigen erneuerbaren Energien unter Biogene Treibstoffe enthalten. Gegenüber den im Vorjahr ausgewiesenen Werten reduzieren sich die Verbrauchsangaben 2013 von Benzin um 130 TJ (-0,1%) und von Diesel um 430 TJ (-0,4%).

Energieverbrauch in der Industrie und im Dienstleistungssektor

Der jährlich vom BFE veröffentlichte Energieverbrauch von 19 Branchengruppen der Industrie und des Dienstleistungssektors basiert auf einer Stichprobe und einem Hochrechnungsverfahren des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS). Die Definition und die Datenquelle der Beschäftigten im Betriebs- und Unternehmungsregister, welches die Grundlage für die Definition der Grundgesamtheit für die Ziehung der Stichprobe bildet, sind revidiert worden. Dies hat Auswirkungen auf die Hochrechnung und insbesondere auf die Vergleichbarkeit der Resultate für das Jahr 2014 mit den Vorjahren. Es wird vom BFS überprüft, inwieweit Resultate bereitgestellt werden können, die einen Vergleich des Energieverbrauches zwischen den Jahren 2013 und 2014 ermöglichen, der von den geänderten Rahmenbedingungen möglichst wenig beeinflusst wird. Deshalb wird die Publikation nicht wie vorgesehen Ende Juli, sondern Ende September publiziert.

Der Energieverbrauch der Schweiz insgesamt und nach Wirtschaftssektoren ist von der Überprüfung nicht betroffen. Die für die Erstellung dieser Statistiken notwendigen Grundlagen konnten aus den bereits vorhandenen Auswertungen der Daten verwendet werden.

Die Schweizerische Gesamtenergiestatistik 2014 ist ab der zweiten Hälfte Juli auf Internet verfügbar und Anfang August 2015 in gedruckter Form erhältlich. Ab sofort verfügbar ist ein erster zusammenfassender Überblick (siehe Anhang).

Adresse für Rückfragen:

Marianne Zünd, Leiterin Kommunikation BFE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Herausgeber:

Bundesamt für Energie
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=de