Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Electricity consumption falls 3.1% in 2014

Bern, 16.04.2015 - In 2014, electricity consumption in Switzerland fell by 3.1% to 57.5 billion kilowatt hours (kWh); domestic consumption (including losses occurring in transmission and distribution) was 61.8 billion kWh. Production at Switzerland's power plants rose by 1.9% to 69.6 billion kWh, or 67.3 billion kWh after deduction of the electricity consumed by storage pumps, which was 2.3 billion kWh. The electricity export surplus in 2014 was 5.5 billion kWh, 3.1 billion kWh above the value for the previous year; this led to a corresponding increase in the monetary export trade balance in Swiss francs of 442 million francs in contrast to 327 million francs in 2013.

Switzerland's electricity consumption (that is domestic consumption after deduction of 4.3 billion kWh lost in transmission and distribution) fell by 3.1% in 2014 to 57.5 billion kWh (2013: 59.3 billion kWh). Significant decreases in consumption were seen in the first (- 4.7%), second (- 3.7%) and fourth quarters (- 2.9%); in the third quarter electricity consumption only fell marginally in comparison to the corresponding quarter in 2013 (- 0.8%).

In 2014, the following changes were seen in the most significant factors influencing electricity consumption:

  • Development of the economy: Switzerland's gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 2.0% in 2014 (source: State Secretariat for Economic Affairs, SECO).
  • Development of the population: According to the "mean population growth" scenario 2010 of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office (SFSO), the country's population is increasing by around 0.9% per annum. (The SFSO has not yet published any official data relating to the development of the population in 2014).
  • Weather: In 2014, the number of heating degree days decreased over the previous year by 19.9% (see table in appendix). Since nearly 10% of the electricity consumed in Switzerland is used for heating (according to the analysis of energy consumption by specific use, SFOE/Prognos 2014), electricity consumption fell in 2014 compared to 2013 because Switzerland experienced one of the warmest years since records began to be kept in 1864.

High domestic electricity production

Overall electricity production (domestic production prior to deduction of 2.3 billion kWh of electricity consumed by storage pumps) at Switzerland's power plants rose in 2014 by 1.9% to 69.6 billion kWh (2013: 68.3 billion kWh). After the record in production achieved in 2001, this constitutes the second highest electricity output ever recorded. In the first quarter domestic production was lower than in the previous year (- 3.6%); in the three other quarters domestic production was higher than that for 2013 (second quarter: + 4.2%, third quarter: + 5.5%, fourth quarter: + 1.5%).

Hydropower plants (fluvial and storage power plants) generated 0.7% less electricity than in the previous year (fluvial power plants, - 2.9%; storage power plants, + 1.2%). In the summer, hydropower production rose by 0.8%, while in the two winter quarters production fell by 2.5%.

Electricity production from the five Swiss nuclear power plants (NPP) rose by 6.0% to reach a new peak of 26.4 billion kWh (2013: 24.9 billion kWh). Mühleberg NPP established a new record for production and Gösgen NPP increased its generating capacity from the middle of the year. The availability rate of Switzerland's NPPs was 90.9% in 2014 (2013: 86.1%).

Hydropower plants contributed 56.4% to overall electricity production, followed by nuclear power plants (37.9%) and conventional thermal and other power plants (5.7%).

Export surplus in 2014

With imports totalling 37.4 billion kWh and exports of 42.9 billion kWh, the balance for 2014 was an export surplus of 5.5 billion kWh (2013: export surplus of 2.4 billion kWh). In the first and fourth quarters, Switzerland imported 0.7 billion kWh net (2013: 1.7 billion kWh) and in the second and third quarters exports of electricity amounted to 6.2 billion kWh net (2013: 4.1 billion kWh).

Revenues from electricity exports amounted to 2,272 million francs (5.32 cents/kWh). Expenditure of 1,830 million francs (4.90 cents/kWh) was incurred for imports. Switzerland's positive balance of foreign trade rose by 35.2% to 442 million francs (2013: 327 million francs).

Address for enquiries:

Marianne Zünd, Head of Communication SFOE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Editor:

Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Stromverbrauch 2014 um 3,1% gesunken

Bern, 16.04.2015 - Im Jahr 2014 ist der Stromverbrauch in der Schweiz um 3,1% auf 57,5 Milliarden Kilowattstunden (Mrd. kWh) gesunken; der Inlandverbrauch (zuzüglich Übertragungs- und Verteilverluste) lag bei 61,8 Mrd. kWh. Die Landeserzeugung der einheimischen Kraftwerke stieg um 1,9% auf 69,6 Mrd. kWh bzw. erreicht ein Niveau von 67,3 Mrd. kWh nach Abzug des Verbrauchs der Speicherpumpen von 2,3 Mrd. kWh. Der mengenmässige Stromexportüberschuss lag im Jahr 2014 mit 5,5 Mrd. kWh um 3,1 Mrd. kWh über dem Vorjahreswert, entsprechend stieg der monetäre Aussenhandelssaldo in Schweizer Franken auf 442 Mio. Franken gegenüber 327 Mio. Franken im 2013.

Der schweizerische Elektrizitätsverbrauch (entspricht dem Landesverbrauch nach Abzug der Übertragungs- und Verteilverluste von 4,3 Mrd. kWh) sank 2014 um 3,1% auf 57,5 Mrd. kWh (2013: 59,3 Mrd. kWh). Hohe Verbrauchsrückgänge ergaben sich im ersten (- 4,7%), im zweiten (- 3,7%) und im vierten (- 2,9%) Quartal; im dritten Quartal sank der Stromverbrauch im Vergleich zum Vorjahresquartal nur geringfügig (- 0,8%).

Die wichtigen Einflussgrössen auf den Elektrizitätsverbrauch zeigen im Jahr 2014 folgende Entwicklungen:

  • Wirtschaftsentwicklung: Das Bruttoinlandprodukt (BIP) nahm 2014 gemäss den ersten provisorischen Ergebnissen um 2,0% zu (Quelle: Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft, SECO).
  • Bevölkerungsentwicklung: Die Bevölkerung der Schweiz steigt gemäss dem ,mittleren" Bevölkerungsszenario 2010 des Bundesamtes für Statistik (BFS) um rund 0,9% pro Jahr. (Das BFS hat noch keine offiziellen Daten zur Entwicklung der Wohnbevölkerung im Jahr 2014 publiziert.)
  • Witterung: 2014 nahmen die Heizgradtage gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 19,9% ab (siehe Tabelle im Anhang). Da in der Schweiz gegen 10% des Stromverbrauchs für das Heizen verwendet werden (Analysen des Energieverbrauchs nach Verwendungszweck, BFE/Prognos 2014), sank infolge des wärmsten Jahres seit Messbeginn (1864) der Stromverbrauch im 2014 gegenüber dem Vorjahr.

Hohe inländische Elektrizitätsproduktion

Die Elektrizitätsproduktion (Landeserzeugung vor Abzug des Verbrauchs der Speicherpumpen von 2,3 Mrd. kWh) des schweizerischen Kraftwerkparks stieg 2014 um 1,9% auf 69,6 Mrd. kWh (2013: 68,3 Mrd. kWh). Nach dem Rekordjahr 2001 ist dies das zweithöchste jemals erzielte Produktionsergebnis. Im 1. Quartal lag die Inlanderzeugung unter dem entsprechenden Vorjahreswert (- 3,6%), in den drei anderen Quartalen des Jahres lag die Inlanderzeugung hingegen über den entsprechenden Vorjahreswerten (2. Quartal: + 4,2%, 3. Quartal: + 5,5%, 4. Quartal: + 1,5%).

Die Wasserkraftanlagen (Laufkraftwerke und Speicherkraftwerke) produzierten 0,7% weniger Elektrizität als im Vorjahr (Laufkraftwerke - 2,9%, Speicherkraftwerke + 1,2%). Im Sommer stieg die Produktion der Wasserkraftwerke um 0,8%, in den beiden Winterquartalen ergab sich hingegen eine Produktionsabnahme von 2,5%.

Die Stromproduktion der fünf schweizerischen Kernkraftwerke stieg um 6,0% auf den neuen Höchstwert von 26,4 Mrd. kWh (2013: 24,9 Mrd. kWh), wobei das Kernkraftwerk Mühleberg einen neuen Produktionsrekord sowie das Kernkraftwerk Gösgen ab Mitte Jahr eine Leistungserhöhung vermeldete. Die Verfügbarkeit des schweizerischen Kernkraftwerkparks erreichte 90,9% (2013: 86,1%).

Am gesamten Elektrizitätsaufkommen waren die Wasserkraftwerke zu 56,4%, die Kernkraftwerke zu 37,9% sowie die konventionell-thermischen und anderen Anlagen zu 5,7% beteiligt.

Exportüberschuss im Jahre 2014

Bei Importen von 37,4 Mrd. kWh und Exporten von 42,9 Mrd. kWh ergab sich 2014 ein Exportüberschuss von 5,5 Mrd. kWh (2013: Exportüberschuss von 2,4 Mrd. kWh). Im ersten und im vierten Quartal importierte die Schweiz per Saldo 0,7 Mrd. kWh (2013: 1,7 Mrd. kWh), im zweiten und dritten Quartal exportierte sie per Saldo 6,2 Mrd. kWh (2013: 4,1 Mrd. kWh).

Der Erlös aus den Stromexporten betrug 2'272 Mio. Franken (5,32 Rp./kWh). Für die Importe fielen Ausgaben von 1'830 Mio. Franken an (4,90 Rp./kWh). Der positive Aussenhandelssaldo der Schweiz stieg um 35,2% auf 442 Mio. Franken (2013: 327 Mio. Franken).

Adresse für Rückfragen:

Marianne Zünd, Leiterin Kommunikation BFE, Tel. 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Herausgeber:

Bundesamt für Energie
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=de