Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energy consumption up by 2.5% in 2013

Bern, 26.06.2014 - Switzerland's final energy consumption increased by 2.5% in 2013 to 896,000 terajoules (TJ) compared to 2012. The main reason for the increase was the cold weather. Positive developments in the economy also contributed to greater demand as did the continuing growth in the population.

At 896,000 TJ the final energy consumption in 2013 was marginally less than the peak reached in 2010 (902,980 TJ). As in 2010 the winter of 2013 was cold. As a result heating degree days, which are an indicator of the amount of energy consumed for heating, were up by 5.8% compared to the preceding year. Further contributing to higher consumption were increases in the permanent population (+1.2%), in the gross domestic product (+2.0%), the number of motor vehicles (+1.6%) and the number of homes (no accurate statistics are available).

Increase in consumption of energy carriers for heating

The cold weather led to an increase in consumption of energy carriers for heating purposes: in comparison to 2012 consumption of extra-light heating oil rose by 5.4% and use of gas by 5.9%. Electricity consumption increased by 0.6% (see SFOE press release of 10 April 2014). Consumption of energy generated from industrial waste (+2.3%) and from coal (7.6%) rose too. Consumption of heavy types of heating oil fell by 41.2%, and that of petroleum coke by 23.4%. 

Vehicle fuel consumption unchanged

Overall vehicle fuel consumption remained unchanged when compared to 2012. The trend of substituting diesel for petrol as vehicle fuel continued unabated: Sales of diesel rose by 4.4% while petrol consumption fell again (-4.5%), a trend that has been observed every year since 2001. Sales of aviation fuel increased by 1.1%.

Renewable energy consumption also up

The effect of the cold weather is also reflected in the consumption of the renewable energy carriers which were used for heating. Use of wood for heating rose by 9.4%. A rise of 11.8% was seen in use of ambient heat with heat pumps compared to 2012, while consumption from district heating and solar heating plants also increased (+6.0% and +10.3% respectively).

Direct use of biogas increased by 0.6%. Taking into account biogas fed into the natural gas mains (which is statistically entered as natural gas), use of biogas rose by 7.1%. In contrast use of biofuels fell by 7.7%.

Amendment of the overall energy statistics for 1980-2012

The figures cited in the overall energy statistics for 2013 are based on the amended data published in May 2014 and are therefore only partly comparable with the figures published last year. The amended statistics contained new calorific values for combustibles, vehicle fuels and coal, updated data on power dissipation for natural gas and adapted figures for heating oil consumption (see SFOE press release of 2 May 2014).

Switzerland's overall energy statistics for 2013 will be available on Internet in the second half of July and in print from the beginning of August 2014. An initial summary of the statistics is available immediately (see attachment).

Address for enquiries:

Marianne Zünd, Head of Communication SFOE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Editor:

Swiss Federal Office of Energy
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Energieverbrauch 2013 um 2,5 % gestiegen

Bern, 26.06.2014 - Der Endenergieverbrauch der Schweiz ist 2013 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 2,5% auf 896`000 Terajoule (TJ) gestiegen. Hauptgrund dafür war die kühle Witterung. Zum Verbrauchsanstieg trugen aber auch die positive Wirtschaftsentwicklung und das anhaltende Bevölkerungswachstum bei.

Mit 896`000 TJ lag der Endenergieverbrauch 2013 nur wenig unter dem Spitzenwert des Jahres 2010 (902`980 TJ). Wie 2010 gab es auch 2013 einen kalten  Winter. So haben die Heizgradtage, ein Indikator für den Energieverbrauch zu Heizzwecken, gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 5,8% zugenommen. Zum höheren Energieverbrauch bei trug aber auch die Zunahme der ständigen Wohnbevölkerung (+1,2%), des Bruttoinlandprodukts (+2,0) , des Motorfahrzeugbestands (+1,6%) sowie des Wohnungsbestands (keine genauen Zahlen verfügbar).

Verbrauchsanstieg von Energieträgern zu Heizzwecken

Die kalte Witterung bewirkte einen Anstieg des Verbrauchs von Energieträgern zu Heizzwecken: Der Verbrauch von Heizöl extra-leicht stieg um 5,4%, derjenige von Erdgas um 5,9% gegenüber dem Vorjahr an. Der Elektrizitätsverbrauch legte um 0,6% zu (siehe Medienmitteilung BFE vom 10. April 2014). Zugenommen hat auch die energetische Verwendung von Industrieabfällen (+2,3%) und Kohle (+7,6%). Der Verbrauch der schweren Heizölsorten sank um 41,2%, derjenige von Petrolkoks um 23.4%.

Treibstoffverbrauch konstant

Der Treibstoffverbrauch insgesamt blieb gegenüber dem Vorjahr konstant. Der Trend zur Substitution von Benzin durch Dieseltreibstoff setzte sich jedoch ungebrochen fort: Der Absatz von Dieselöl erhöhte sich um 4,4%, hingegen war der Benzinverbrauch wie jedes Jahr seit 2001 rückläufig (-4,5%). Der Absatz von Flugtreibstoffen stieg um 1,1%.

Verbrauchsanstieg auch bei den erneuerbaren Energien

Die Witterung wirkte sich auch auf den Verbrauch der erneuerbaren Energieträger zu Heizzwecken aus. Der Verbrauch von Energieholz stieg um 9,4%. Auch die Nutzung von Umgebungswärme durch Wärmepumpen lag 11,8% über dem Vorjahreswert, ebenso der Verbrauch von Fernwärme (+6,0%) und Solarwärme (+10,3%).

Die direkte Nutzung von Biogas erhöhte sich um 0,6%. Unter Berücksichtigung des ins Erdgasnetz eingespeiste Biogas (das statistisch als Erdgas verbucht wird), ergibt sich ein Anstieg des Biogasverbrauchs von 7,1%. Hingegen sank der Verbrauch von Biotreibstoffen um 7,7%.

Revision der Gesamtenergiestatistik 1980 - 2012

Die Zahlen der Gesamtenergiestatistik 2013 basieren auf der im Mai 2014 publizierten revidierten Datengrundlage und sind deshalb nur bedingt mit den im letzten Jahr veröffentlichten Werten vergleichbar. Die Revision beinhaltete neue Heizwerte für fossile Brenn- und Treibstoffe sowie Kohle, aktualisierte Datengrundlagen zu den Leitungsverlusten beim Erdgas und Anpassungen beim Heizölverbrauch (siehe Medienmitteilung BFE vom 2. Mai 2014).

Die Schweizerische Gesamtenergiestatistik 2013 ist ab der zweiten Hälfte Juli auf Internet verfügbar und Anfang August 2014 in gedruckter Form erhältlich. Ab sofort verfügbar ist ein erster zusammenfassender Überblick (siehe Anhang).

Adresse für Rückfragen:

Marianne Zünd, Leiterin Kommunikation BFE, 058 462 56 75 / 079 763 86 11

Herausgeber:

Bundesamt für Energie
Internet: http://www.bfe.admin.ch


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/energie/00588/00589/00644/index.html?lang=de