Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Success Stories - Info-Clips

A series of information clips provide an insight into selected energy-related research, pilot, demonstration and flagship projects that have been realised with the support of the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). The focus is on researchers and innovative entrepreneurs.
No end of electricity
Video: Strom in Hülle und Fülle
Thanks to the active glass façade with invisibly integrated photovoltaic cells, an apartment block at Schaffhauserplatz in Zurich has become an energy-plus building. The type of module employed is actually less efficient than today’s regular photovoltaic modules, however it has great potential because of the variety of situations in which it can be used. Addition of more energy-plus buildings to the grid also facilitates the use of new approaches to maintaining grid stability. An intelligent energy management system was used in the Schaffhauserplatz project to optimise consumption within the building.
Stable electricity supply thanks to control pooling
In an electricity grid the balance between electricity generation and electricity consumption has to be maintained and this is done continuously by calling on the operating reserve. Swissgrid, the national grid operator, provides a secondary and tertiary operating reserve in blocks of 5MW. To ensure smaller capacity units can participate in this market, a number of such units are grouped together using a control pooling system.
The electrical device’s fingerprint brings transparency
In the REALYSE project a measuring system has been developed that can detect from the household’s overall load curve which electrical devices are being used at any time. This is made possible by the consumption characteristics of electrical devices, which could be likened to the human fingerprint. In the future this measuring system should make it possible to identify devices which consume large amounts of energy and to deliver recommendations for replacement of the devices with more efficient alternatives.
Electricity from waste heat
GreenTEG in Zurich manufactures mini-generators, which can generate electricity from temperature fluctuations. These thermoelectric generators (TEG) can be used for various technical applications. At present, GreenTEG is in the process of developing a TEG for use in an autonomous heating valve capable of controlling room temperature intelligently.
Better living in energy efficient apartments
The renovation of two apartment blocks belonging to the 'Cigale' housing cooperative in Geneva is the largest building renovation project to be carried out in Switzerland compliant with the Minergy-P energy efficiency standard. Today the development can largely be supplied with heating and hot water generated using solar power – thanks to insulation throughout and an innovative heating system with integrated ice storage.
Energy efficient glass façades
Glass façades, which feature widely in modern architecture, are a major challenge for construction specialists from the standpoint of energy efficiency. Researchers in Geneva and Ticino have now developed a mobile calorimeter to measure solar radiation. The G-Box, as it is called, measures the g-value of an area of glass – that is the proportion of solar energy which penetrates the transparent parts of the façade – on site inside the building.
Vegetables from the greenhouse - thanks to geothermal energy
Hansjörg Grob has realised a remarkable geothermal energy project in his market garden in the village of Schlattingen (TG). While drilling in 2013, he discovered a warm water aquifer at a depth of 1,200 meters that was suitable for his purpose. Beginning in 2014, market gardener Grob will be heating his greenhouses with terrestrial heat, thus largely substituting fossil energy carriers.
How fish by-pass the turbines
Today, fish ladders are used widely to allow fish to by-pass power plants and get to the higher reaches of rivers. It's not so easy for the fish to go downstream, as there is mostly no reliable means of passing the plant: when swimming downstream fish can easily get caught in turbines and die. In a research project at the ETH Laboratory of Hydraulics, Hydrology and Glaciology in Zurich experiments are under way to study how fish could be guided past power plants using suitably constructed fish diversion rakes.
Battery-driven buses that recharge in 15 seconds
For the first time in Switzerland Geneva Public Transport (TPG) is using a battery-powered articulated bus on city passenger transport routes. Propulsion is provided by a small, and therefore lightweight battery, which is charged frequently over short periods throughout the journey, whenever the bus halts to pick up or set down passengers. This system provides a good alternative to trolleybuses, which need cumbersome overhead trolley wires, and to diesel buses.
Less electricity used for foodstuffs in refrigerated shelves
Countless refrigerated shelves and freezers are in operation at large supermarkets and these run for 24 hours per day. The energy consumption of refrigerated installations can be reduced by up to 15% by installing a very simple module. This is demonstrated in a unique pilot project in Switzerland at the Migros branch in Bulle (FR). The technology used could well become very popular in commercial and industrial CO2 refrigeration.
Swiss precision technology in the manufacture of solar panels
The objective of the 'Swiss Inno HJT' project is to construct manufacturing facilities for innovative heterojunction technology (HJT) solar panels. The four partners in the project – Meyer-Burger, Roth & Rau Research, CSEM and Pasan – want to demonstrate how a module production chain would function. The project partners' intend to create the conditions necessary to manufacture the production machines required for the fabrication of HJT panels.

Further information

Energy research
Pilot, demonstration and flagships programme
Knowledge and technology transfer
Contact: Andrea Möller
Last update: 04.01.2017


Ende Inhaltsbereich



Further information All information clips on YouTube: Cleantech playlist The latest information clips are also announced on Twitter:
@BFEcleantech on Twitter


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/cleantech/05761/06041/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Success Stories - Info-Clips

Eine Serie von Info-Clips gewährt einen anschaulichen Einblick in ausgewählte Forschungs-, Pilot-, Demonstrations- und Leuchtturmprojekte, die mit Unterstützung des Bundesamts für Energie realisiert werden. Im Zentrum stehen Forschende und innovative Unternehmen.
Strom in Hülle und Fülle
Video: Strom in Hülle und Fülle
Dank einer aktiven Glasfassade mit unsichtbar integrierten Photovoltaikzellen wird ein Mehrfamilienhaus am Schaffhauserplatz in Zürich zum PlusEnergie-Gebäude. Diese Glasmodule sind heute zwar noch weniger effizient als herkömmliche Photovoltaik-Module, bieten aber dank ihrer vielfältigen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten ein grosses Potenzial. Der Zubau von PlusEnergie-Häusern erlaubt auch neue Lösungsansätze zur Aufrechterhaltung der Netzstabilität. Beim Projekt am Schaffhauserplatz wird ein intelligentes Energiemanagement eingesetzt und der Eigenverbrauch optimiert.
Stabile Stromversorgung dank Regelpooling
In einem Stromnetz muss die Balance zwischen Stromproduktion und Stromverbrauch durch den Anruf sogenannter Regelleistung laufend aufrechterhalten werden. Die nationale Netzgesellschaft Swissgrid beschafft sekundäre und tertiäre Regelleistung in Blöcken von 5 MW. Damit auch Anlagen mit kleinerer Leistung an diesem Markt teilnehmen können, werden verschiedene solcher Anlagen mittels eines Regelpoolings zusammengeschlossen.
Der Fingerabdruck des Elektrogeräts schafft Transparenz
Im Projekt REALYSE wurde ein Messsystem entwickelt, das aus der Gesamtlastkurve eines Haushaltes ermitteln kann, welche Elektrogeräte jeweils in Betrieb sind. Möglich ist dies aufgrund des charakteristischen Strombezugs, durch den sich die Elektrogeräte wie Menschen durch Fingerabdrücke auszeichnen. Das Messsystem soll zukünftig ermöglichen, besonders energieintensive Elektrogeräte zu erkennen und Empfehlungen zum Ersatz durch effizientere Alternativen abzugeben.
Aus Abwärme wird Strom
Die Firma GreenTEG in Zürich stellt Minigeneratoren her, welche aufgrund von Temperaturunterschieden elektrischen Strom erzeugen können. Diese thermoelektrischen Generatoren (TEG) können für verschiedene technische Anwendungen eingesetzt werden. Aktuell arbeitet GreenTEG an der Entwicklung eines TEGs für den Einsatz in einem automatischen Heizungsventil, mit welchem die Raumtemperatur intelligent gesteuert werden kann.
Schöner Wohnen im Energiesparblock
Bei der Sanierung von zwei Wohnblocks der Wohnungsgenossenschaft 'La Cigale' in Genf handelt es sich um die grösste Gebäudeerneuerung nach dem Energieeffizienzstandard Minergie-P, die in der Schweiz je realisiert wurde. Die Überbauung kann heute zu einem grossen Anteil mit Heizenergie und Brauchwasser solaren Ursprungs versorgt werden – dank konsequenter Wärmedämmung und eines innovativen Heizsystems mit integriertem Eisspeicher.
Glasfassaden werden energetisch transparent
Glasfassaden, wie sie in der modernen Architektur weit verbreitet sind, stellen für Baufachleute unter energetischen Gesichtspunkten eine grosse Herausforderung dar. Genfer und Tessiner Forscher haben nun ein mobiles Kalorimeter zur Messung der Sonnenstrahlung entwickelt. Die sogenannte G-Box erlaubt, den g-Wert einer Glasfläche – also den Anteil der Sonnenenergie, welcher transparente Fassadenteile durchdringt – vor Ort zu bestimmen.
Gemüse aus dem Gewächshaus - dank Geothermie
Hansjörg Grob hat auf seinem Gemüsebau-Betrieb in Schlattingen (TG) ein bemerkenswertes Geothermie-Projekt realisiert. Bei einer Bohrung im Jahr 2013 stiess er in 1200 Metern Tiefe auf Warmwasservorkommen, die sich für eine Nutzung anbieten. Ab 2014 will der Gemüsebauer seine Gewächshäuser mit Erdwärme heizen und damit fossile Energieträger in erheblichem Umfang ersetzen.
Wie Fische an der Turbine vorbeikommen
Fischtreppen sind heute eine verbreitete Einrichtung, dank derer Fische an Kraftwerken vorbei die Flüsse hochwandern können. In die Gegenrichtung ist die Durchgängigkeit heute meistens noch nicht gewährleistet: Flussabwärts können Fische in Turbinen geraten und verenden. Ein Forschungsprojekt an der ETH-Versuchsanstalt für Wasserbau in Zürich untersucht, wie Fische mittels geeigneter Leitrechen an den Kraftwerken vorbei geführt werden könnten.
Batterie-betriebener Linienbus, fix geladen
Die Genfer Verkehrsbetriebe (TPG) nutzen erstmals in der Schweiz einen batteriebetriebenen Gelenkbus für den städtischen Personentransport. Die Antriebsenergie liefert eine kleine und damit leichte Batterie, die auf der Fahrt immer wieder kurzzeitig nachgeladen wird, jeweils dann, wenn der Bus an einer Haltestelle Fahrgäste ein- und aussteigen lässt. Das System versteht sich als Alternative zur den Trolleybussen mit ihren teilweise als störend empfundenen Oberleitungen, aber auch als Option zum Ersatz von Dieselbussen.
Esswaren im Kühlregal fressen weniger Strom
Kühlregale und Tiefkühltruhen in den Verkaufsgeschäften von Grossverteilern sind zahlreich und laufen rund um die Uhr. Der Energieverbrauch dieser Kühlmöbel lässt sich mit dem Einbau eines an sich simplen Bauelements um stolze 15 Prozent und mehr senken. Das zeigt ein für die Schweiz bisher einzigartiges Pilotprojekt in der Migros-Filiale Bulle (FR). Die Technologie für gewerbliche und industrielle CO2-Kälteanlagen könnte Schule machen.
Neue Solarpanel dank Schweizer Präzisionsmaschinen
Das Projekt "Swiss Inno HJT" verfolgt das Ziel, eine Produktionsanlage für Solarpanels zu bauen, die auf der innovativen Hetero Junction Technology (HJT; deutsch: Heteroübergang-Technologie) beruhen. Die vier Projektpartner – Meyer-Burger, Roth & Rau Research, CSEM und Pasan – wollen mit dem Projekt insbesondere zeigen, wie die Produktionskette zur Herstellung dieser Module funktioniert. Damit möchten die Projektpartner die Voraussetzung schaffen, um künftig die für die Fertigung der HJT-Panels nötigen Produktionsmaschinen herstellen zu können.

Weitere Informationen

Energieforschung
Pilot-, Demonstrations- und Leuchtturmprogramm
Wissens- und Technologietransfer
Ihre Ansprechperson: Andrea Möller
Letzte Änderung: 04.01.2017


Ende Inhaltsbereich



Weitere Informationen Alle Info-Clips auf YouTube: Cleantech-Playlist Die neusten Info-Clips werden auch über Twitter angekündigt:
@BFEcleantech auf Twitter


http://www.bfe.admin.ch/cleantech/05761/06041/index.html?lang=de